Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2012-01-03 - 8:46 p.m.

A spanking new year is underway and I am feeling pretty good about it. I am reading my new book, Stephen sure can weave a tale. I miss reading. I used to read voraciously but time is so tight in my days. I do have time to read but with the kid around it is hard to tune him out enough to enjoy myself. Sometimes it seems easier to just watch something on the computer, or just surf even. That way I am less irritated if the kid gets to needing attention. The other day he sat next to me while I was reading. He wanted to turn the pages for me. After he got over his disappointment over the lack of pictures he satisfied himself with holding on to the page ready to turn when I was finished. Never mind the fact that I couldn't really read the page because he was curling it away from me in anticipation of turning. I hate to give him a hard time about it because I know he gets lonely, all by himself, and although I do give him attention I don't want him to expect all attention all the time. Sometimes I just tell him to go and play. It can seem cruel to some people I suppose but I want him to have some self sufficiency. It's important that he learn to be alone, it's an important skill and one that I didn't learn soon enough to save me some heartache. Not that I believe that I can save him heartache but maybe I can soften things a little. Of course it could backfire and he will be one of those kids who tells people how his parents left him alone all the time and that made him even more lonely.

Sigh, there really is no right way is there. No matter what you do you are destined to screw them up.

Wait a minute, I got side tracked, what was I talking about again, oh yeah, reading. I have the new Jobs biography too. My Darling wasn't sure about buying it for me. I love biographies but I tend to select people for odd reasons. I don't know if I would have sought out the book but now that I own it I am really looking forward to reading it. There are certain people in this world who seem to control, even warp the reality around them. Through personality, or power, karma or luck they have an effect that far exceeds normal human reach. I wonder about those people. I wonder how it feels to have that super power. I read a bit from Shonda the mind behind Greys @natomy and she spoke of super powers. Callie's (Ms Ramirez's) super power is her voice, Stephen's are his words on the page. There is Mr. Hanks and Young Mr White whose super powers are acting and snow boarding.

Here is the question. Are some people kissed on the forehead by fate while others have no shot out of the gate? I know that some of it has to be genetic. You an not teach someone with out an ear how to sing. If they can not hear the notes they can not reproduce them. Then you need to have the instrument (throat, vocal cords and lungs) to produce sounds that people want to listen to. Some things can be learned to adequate but is seems to me that exceptional isn't something you an decide to be. You either have it or you don't. I am not diminishing the hard work that people who have ascended in their field must have done but what about all the people who don't have super powers. Must they live forever in the muck and mire, no hope of enjoying their lives, too busy just trying to stay a step ahead of the bill collectors. No super powers for you my friend, tough nooggies are all you will ever know. I'm so sorry, you lost the genetic lottery. Your life will consist of one dreary job after another with no hope for ever moving out of the class you were born to. Have a nice day!

Hmm. SO what would my super power be (if I have one). Certainly not Super Mom. Nor Super waitress. I am Super Crazy but not in a good way.

I know, Super Nice Girl. Watch as she says please and thank you and is nice to everyone whether they are nice to her or not. I know it sounds a ,little like carpet girl, watch as everyone wipes their feet on her but no, really can that be a super power.

Bah.

Look at the time, stephen awaits. I let you know what I think when I am done.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!