Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2010-07-12 - 5:32 p.m.

How quickly the days slip by, especially when there is so much going on. I have been trying to be as productive as I can in these the last waning days of my "break" (you may take that word any way you wish). With Therapy, Doctors visits and home renovation my days are full. Oh, did I mention I have this little toddler person to take care of? Still I am pleased with the latest go round. We have been listening to what is most likely the last gasps of our refrigerator for a while now. This fridge (isn't it funny how there is no d in refrigerator but there is one in fridge?) was purchased by me circa 1997 so even though it was in storage for fiveish years (or maybe because it was in storage) it seemed to have reached it's limit. Now we could have gone out a found an equivalent unit but we were after cu ft. That's right, we wanted the biggie, the fantastic the incomparable 26 cu ft side by side monster (yes I know there megalith units but they are reserved for the upper crust.) In order to fit this monster into our kitchen, cabinets had to be moved and with that hardwood floor had to be installed in the resulting hole. To accomplish this task in the most aesthetic manner part of the existing floor would have to be removed, carefully, oh so very carefully and new floor installed to fill the hole and blend into the existing floor. I am pleased to say I was able to complete this job, successfully, in one day allowing us to head out two days later and purchase a brand new, dare I say it, I'm so excited, 26 cu ft side by side in black. Now all of our appliances are shiny black and our cupboards white. Except the microwave. Don't tell my Darling but that's going to be the next to go. Nothing wrong with it so not tomorrow or anything but when it shows the slightest hiccup it's out of here.

You may be wondering why, in our haste to replace our fridge, we didn't head out the very next day. Ah yes, that was because we spent that day enjoying the brilliance of Dale Chihuly. He is showing less than a days ride from my home, a semi-permanent installation grown larger, temporarily, for the summer. The best part of the exhibit was watching the DVD of his team making these masterpieces. I am always impressed with what people can do when they work together. I am just as confused as to why some people can't ever seem to work together. Some folks just can't see the big picture. Glass is such a fantastic medium. They never know exactly how it will look when it's done, technique will get you close but the ultimate result is in the universes hands.

It was a wonderful day.

I continue to look at the MFA stuff. Found out the program I am looking into is one of the top five in the nation (Don't be intimidated, don't be intimidated...Argg, ok maybe I'm just a little intimidated). I'm almost fifty you know. What's the age limit for such things anyway? Still it's not going to cost that much to apply. There's the transcripts fee (that is such a scam) and the application fee but otherwise most of the process just costs me time. While time is precious and I seem to have very little sometimes, it is something I should make time for because it is for me. It is so easy to let my writing lapse. There is always something that seems more important and before you know it I am miserable and then everyone around me is miserable. Assuming that is the case then keeping me happy will allow everyone else to be happy.

I want to be happy, despite the evidence to the contrary.

I just need to learn to make it work.

I can do this.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!