Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2010-07-14 - 10:17 a.m.

I collect dictionaries. When I was a child my parents had a dictionary collected one letter at a time from a local grocery. It was too heavy for me to lift so my parents put it on the ground next to the bookcase so I could read it. I spent hours reading the dictionary. One word's definition would provide another word to investigate. I would get lost in the book. Next came literature, Anne of Green Gables, Little Women, Huckleberry Finn. All lovingly provided by my parents, bibliophiles themselves.

It is my love of words and storytelling that has driven my writing even as my path has lead in so many divergent directions. I studied theatre in college. My BA was a emphasis in theatre program and the time I could devote outside of the theatre was limited. I wasn't the best student at that time. I was obsessed with telling a story in person from the stage. So many of the characters that I played were secondary to the main plot and that made me adept at writing the back story based on the little provided by the script. With a minimum of information I would create people with parents, friends and lives that took place offstage but manifested itself as three dimensional personalities on stage.

During the theatrical portion of my life I also adjudicated for the Theatre Association of New York State. I would help people be better at their craft by providing positive critique for the advancement of their craft. It taught me how important it is to see both the strengths and weaknesses in performers and how to nudge them in the right direction to help them hone the skills they had. These were people who performed for the love of it and it was important to critique with kindness.

Again and again I was faced with seeing and/or creating a story. I enjoyed creating the story more than performing or any accolades that went with it.

My second round of college was more successful as my approach was professional. The maturity I had gained between my BA and my pursuit of a AAS translated to a better performance. I graduated with honors in laboratory technology and entered into the scientific field. While I am still enthralled by science I find myself more interested in writing around it than performing experiments. I soon bored of the day to day laboratory and spent my days planning my escape. As I worked on my plans I shared my dreams of travel and exploration with my co-workers. I know they doubted right up to the day I left. At 34 I was done with my hometown and the life I had fallen into and I was ready to look for something better.


I am putting together this as a beginning to the final personal statement I must submit for my application. I would appreciate any and all comment and suggestions.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!