Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2010-03-04 - 5:50 p.m.

So my Daycareless week is almost over and I have done little, it seems, beyond the normal tasks of my week.

Well, I baked more cookies for the older couple who seem to be going through a batch of cookies a week. I don't mind, they pay me quite well, in fact they over pay. The have also turned my eye towards a possible solution to the "what shall I do as a hobby/interest?" question. They asked me to make a cake for them. They are celebrating 68 years together (yes you read that right 68 years). Now I used to decorate cakes when I was younger. In fact even more recently (as is the last 6 years) I did a standing Teddy bear cake that turned out pretty nice. So I picked up a book at the library to help me brush up on my rose making skills as well as a sugar flower book just for fun. Those sugar flowers are stunning. They are a combination of modeling (as in clay) painting and arranging (as in floral). The results are really spectacular. The whole cake thing is a niche market. Every grocery store now a days has a specialty cake department which are cheap but which also provides fodder for the C@KE WRECKS site everyday. Not too many people in my area are doing it and the ones who are collect a pretty penny for their work. The big question is, could I get good enough to replace my current income?

The good news is that I don't have to decide or even try at this point. I am going to make the anniversary cake and I am also going to play around a little with sugar flowers and see how I like it. Short term goals are better than long expansive (and possibly expensive) plans. I don't need a lot of tools to get started and if I don't like it well at least I'll have tried.

Something to do, something artistic, something that is involved enough to take me outside of myself and relax me. This sounds like a good fit, I just need to do it.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!