Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2009-09-26 - 1:15 p.m.

Speaking of gender profiling (ok you weren't but LA was and I have my own piece to say) I have had a couple of run ins (ok "run in" is too strong how about "situations") with my sister in law over inappropriate gender gifts.

Backstory...

For her daughters birthday last year we checked with My Darlings brother rather than her leading to a gift that she found inappropriate. She had requested gender specific toys (dolls, kitchen stuff, plastic food and such) and we gave a tool set so she could help daddy with the home improvements they were busy with. My Darlings brother had mentioned how his daughter was an eager helper and he agreed the tool set would be nice. Mom on the other hand was less than thrilled and suggested she might buy Baby Boy a doll for Christmas.

I was, of course, fine with that which surprised my SIL. I don't mind my Baby boy playing with dolls, he has several stuffed animals and a doll he can play with under supervision since it was his great grandmothers. But evidently my sister in law was absent when they taught that girls can do anything the boys can do (lending itself to vice versa). She isn't a stay at home Mom, in fact she works in the auto industry so I'm curious about her cherry picking of gender rolls.

Currently, Baby boy has become enamored with cooking. Since he was pretty young I have allowed him to "help" make pancakes every weekend (I love pancakes and My Darling is happy to indulge me). When ever he goes to the SIL house he plays with his cousins kitchen set so finally she is on board to the gender neutral gifting at least when it applies to my Baby boy. She is planning to purchase a pot and pan set for him. I'm not sure if she will feel the same when her son arrives in the spring but maybe she will be a little more open minded seeing how Baby Boy is still a "normal" boy despite his penchant for cooking.

I let him follow whatever he shows interest in, as long as it isn't going to hurt him. He plays piano (unstructured) colors, jumps from the couch, dances, sings, drives his tractor, plays with sticks and many other classic child activities.

Mommy does plumbing, works on cars and is a martial artist in addition to homemaking. Daddy likes to cook, vacuums and does his fair share of primary childcare in addition to his role as primary breadwinner. We are a pretty accomplished couple (although we could both use some patience when working together).

With luck and proper encouragement Baby Boy will be comfortable doing whatever he likes regardless of societal pressures that come to bear in the future. I want him to be happy inside his skin, comfortable that his value is not determined by the mob but by his own fulfillment.

Check out his new kitchen.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!