Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-02-28 - 11:10 a.m.

To die,--to sleep,--
No more; and by a sleep to say we end
The heartache, and the thousand natural shocks
That flesh is heir to,--'tis a consummation
Devoutly to be wish'd. To die,--to sleep;--
To sleep! perchance to dream:--ay, there's the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come,
When we have shuffled off this mortal coil,
Must give us pause: there's the respect
That makes calamity of so long life;
Hamlet Act III Scene 1 � William Shakespeare

I find myself once again in the calamity of sleeplessness and though this is not the sleep poor Hamlet speaks of it is certainly one of the reasons so many in my situation �shuffle off this mortal coil�. Sleep is a process by which we recharge both physically and emotionally. The spirit flags when the mind and body are reaching exhaustion with no end in sight. I had found the cure to my sleeplessness. The high activity level that I had cultivated was working as a cure to the insomnia that has plagued me my whole life (a symptom of my disease I have come to find out). Now I am forced into a temporary sedentary lifestyle and with that my insomnia returned full force. I am irritable and restless. I find it hard to concentrate and my life has become tedious and insufferable. No amount of consciousness as to the temporary nature of my disability seems to encourage me. I need sleep and I don�t know how to get it. I am hesitant to fall back on medication as the cure since most that I have used leave me at best cranky and irritable from a medication hangover or at worst depressed, a condition I avoid at all cost. I can not function properly though and that is an issue that must be addressed.

I�ll even suffer the dreams, what dreams may come, if I could just sleep.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!