Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2004-12-24 - 1:45 p.m. Eastern time

I am not nearly as cold as I thought I would be. It's not that it isn't cold (it's OMG 9� F) it's that I know that it is temporary. I am just visiting the snow. I will not have to move it around, walk though it much or wait for months before I can venture outside. In a week or so I will be back in southern California and I can BBQ, sit in the sun, go mountain biking or just sit with my Beau with the door open enjoying the fresh air.

My Beau's family has been very welcoming. Despite my intention of staying in a motel I relented and am staying at his folks place and that seems to have made everyone very happy. It is a strange thing to see someone around their family. They are never quite the person that they are with you. I wonder sometimes how different I am around my family. I know that I am not myself, truely, around them but I am not completely someone else. I am this woman-child but not even that. Every year I seem to transition more to a adult human even with the folks around.

I will ask my Darling how bad I am around the folks. I suspect he will not be completely honest with me but he will share a bit I am sure with his wit and eyes.

This is my first real Christmas in a long time. I am purposely avoiding any bad news (or stupid stuff from my ex) by simply not checking my phone messages. No matter what it is it can wait. I will have my Christmas with my Love and no one will be allowed to take that from me.

I am pleased with the gifts I got for my Beau and I am excited which is so different for me. He is patient with my strangeness born of my dysfunctional marriage and I am patient with his strange ways born of his own experiences. We are a good match.

I will be fine here and then at my own folks. I will remember that I love these people complete with flaws as they love me. It is the human condition, and no matter how strange they seem they are family and that grants them grace. Lucky for me the street is two-way.

Happy Christmas and Merry New Year!!

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!