Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2004-12-21 - 10:51 a.m.

I am leaving today (Leaving on a jet plane�) and I will soon meet my Sweethearts family. I was nervous but my Darling put things in perspective for me. I feel tremendously lucky to have found someone who has a different perspective on the world. I have always looked at the world as someplace hostile and unforgiving (probably because so much of my life has been spent defending myself from folks who despise me on sight.) When I stopped being concerned about what others thought of me my world became much simpler but I still had people whose opinion was important (bosses, loved ones and most recently my Sweetheart�s family). I was nervous about what they would think of me knowing that I am not exactly what a mother would wish for her twenty-something son (I am forty and divorced after all). The perspective he gave me (which I hadn�t even considered) is that his family might be nervous about meeting me.

�After all�, said he �if they upset you at all then they won�t see much of me�.

I never think about anyone trying to impress me. I always consider it my job to make people like me and I never consider that other people might feel the same about me. It never occurred to me that they might be nervous about meeting me.

It changed my entire world in one moment.

I am not nervous anymore. We will feel each other out, his family and me, and I will remember that I love this man and he loves me (maybe not forever but certainly right now) and that is all that matters. They live more than 2000 miles away how much effect will they have on our day to day existence anyway? I am calm and happy and that is not a usual state for me going into such an adventure.

I will be traveling for the next few weeks but I will update if I can.

To anyone who might stop by I wish you the Happiest Christmas and a Merry New Year.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!