Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2007-12-07 - 10:27 a.m.

Baby Boy has discovered sitting up. He hasn�t mastered it yet but he likes to sit up in front of the computer as I type his tiny hands reaching to replicate my punching the keys. Periodically his head bobbles like one of those silly dolls and he will rest it against my arm or my body from time to time. I tried talking with him as we usually do in the morning but he has no interest preferring the new and more interesting sitting up. He is still teething and I have resorted to the old fashioned teething towel since he has not taken to any of the more modern teethers. He sucks on the ears of his toys and the towel rejecting the teethers as surely as he has the pacifier. I�m not at all upset about his dislike for the pacifier since I am not fond of the children who cling to them long past their useful period. Even at 6 months the SIL kid seems way too attached spending most of the time with the pacifier clipped to his clothing and ensconced in his mouth (in her defense I suppose I should mention that it is the only thing that stops the yowls.) Baby Boy is currently pretty quiet most of the time which I am told is temporary.

Since he has tired of sitting up (I can tell by the fact that his head rests on the computer) I have moved him to his activity mat. In the new department he has also discovered that he can kick the arm of the thing and rattle all the hanging goodies. He giggles and squeals at his success.

It�s amazing how your world becomes so wrapped up in this tiny human. Of course the learning curve is exciting to watch. Each new event is a first and really at my age firsts are few and far between. I think my fascination with the new drives my flitting from career to career. I seek the new and interesting. I am easily bored with repetition. Well that�s not really true, I like repetition for its Zen quality but I have chased the new in part for the learning and in part for the increase in pay that makes life a trifle easier. I couldn�t imagine being one of those women that are forced to make it on a low paying job while raising a couple of children sans father. So many people take the �play = pay� stand but realistically their view would leave reproduction as the privilege of the few and then where would our artists and geniuses come from. I�m not for the dumbing down of America but I could have decided we were not able to afford a child and what a shame that would have been.

To be honest, lately I have accomplished very little. After my initial flurry of house activity I have fallen into a pit of sloth and I can�t seem to motivate myself. I have even turned the TV on during the day which is out of character for me. I don�t watch the soaps (gasp, no) but there are good movies on during the day and they can suck me in. I think it is important for Baby Boy to occupy himself and when he is on the ground it is currently safe for me to find small tasks that still need attention. He isn�t mobile yet so there is no danger in leaving him to his own devices for an hour or so. Still I would rather be typing up a post or reading a book; I can�t remember the last time I sat down and read anything for any length of time (Potter maybe?).

Tonight I will prepare dinner and My Darling and I will eat together followed by an evening with pirates, call it date night. Hopefully he will not be too tired to enjoy the movie. I miss him. We sometimes see each other awake during this week if I get out of work early enough but his need to get up the next morning puts the cobash on movies or any similar activities. The stress of the day can sometimes ruin an otherwise pleasant evening as well. Why we humans waste any time in anger is beyond me, yet I am victim to the silly emotion just a surely and anyone else. Is it possible to teach your child to eschew anger? Can they learn to stand up for themselves with out getting lost in that emotion, be strong without hurting others. I try so hard to share my feelings without driving an argument but it is so difficult not to hold it in to avoid a fight. That�s not healthy either. The problem is that both parties must share the desire to solve problems without driving and argument with anger. Can there be productive disagreement which brings discussion and resolution. Is it possible?

I have spent enough time in philosophical contemplation�to the laundry!!


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!