Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2007-06-18 - 4:43 p.m.

I rode my bike!!!

After investigating the feasibility and safety of riding a bike while pregnant and being assured that as long as I was comfortable and stuck to stable flat surfaces (no downhill) I could bicycle to my hearts (or lungs) content. So Sunday morning My Darling and I rode off from my apartment complex to sites unknown (ok really we rode into town and around the local park). Before too long my legs and my lungs declared an end to the session. It was not a long ride (nothing in, in fact, compared to rides in SoCal) but it was a start.

I guess I am secretly terrified that I will never get my body back into shape. I understand that this process warps the body, it is unavoidable, but I know that some bodies warp more than others and I just wanted to be one of those that didn�t warp as much. Two of my sister-in-laws were back in shape in three months time. They look as good as ever. What if I�m not so lucky? I don�t like the way my bottom has expanded to mirror my belly. I am trying to watch what I eat (as in eat healthy not �diet�) and increase my exercising but I still feel as though I am spiraling out of control. Pregnancy is not a control freaks friend. The loss of control is overwhelming.

The good news is that time marches on and no matter what I do there will come a day when the baby is out of me and I will have my body back. The question remains what condition will it be in when it is finally mine again?

Still no word on the house. As of last Friday the bank issued the statement via the sellers realtor that we should expect another week or twos wait for an answer. Family and friends have suggested we cut our losses and move on yet again but here in MI there is a housing crisis. There have been record foreclosures and most of the houses we can afford are either in foreclosure (owned by the bank) or a short-sale (which means the bank is willing to allow the owner to sell the property for less than is owed so that it doesn�t have to foreclose). If we walk away from this sale we might find ourselves waiting on yet another bank for a month. You would think that the banks would be eager to move these properties but from what I have been told they just have the personal to deal with the number of houses currently in arrears.

The wait is killing me. Can�t unpack, can�t get the nursery ready, and can�t finish packing, stuck, in the true sense of the word. I don�t quite live in my apt and I have no place to go. I shop garage sales for baby clothes and stuff but with no idea what size room I will have to fill. This means I often say no to things I would like because I don�t know if I will have room for them.

I know this feeling of stuck is one of the driving forces behind my desire to be physically active. It�s Dorie all over again, Just keep swimming�or Just keep riding� I know my friend Brian understands; I suspect it is part of what drives him all over WNY. I just don�t have his energy or stamina (I�m pregnant don�tcha know).

One mile at a time, One day at a time, One moment if need be but persevere we shall. Sing it with me Sandy �We shall overcome��.

I�m so happy to have this place and my friends here to help me though this, just knowing you are here makes it easier to keep on swimming.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!