Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2007-05-29 - 10:27 p.m.

I got the results of my secondary Glucose test today and I passed. This means I do not have gestational diabetes and thus there will be no special diet, no additional supervision or testing beyond the usual. This makes me quite happy of course. It has no effect on my energy levels though. I was prepared to hear that the fatigue I am currently experiencing was due to GD but now I find that it is just, well, fatigue and thus there is no "cure". I just have to deal with it so it seems.

There was a little controversy over my "weight gain". I place this into quotation marks because the situation was instigated by a scale error. I have only gained 16 pounds 26 weeks. That's a little over a half a pound a week (to be honest I lost weight in my first trimester so I actually gained a little more than that, maybe a pound a week.) I don't think that's excessive. None the less I will be watching a little more carefully so as to limit the gain from now on. Body weight maintenance is so difficult in the first place usually requiring a pretty active lifestyle to off set my food intake. It's not that I eat a lot so much as that I am quite efficient in my metabolic use of food and so less calories carry me further than other folk. I don't need to diet most of the time but that is due to my exercise levels. The fatigue has reduced my exercise and thus I must be more careful about my caloric intake. My Darling complains because I often become focused on a task and lose all contact with time and such allowing me to skip meals completely without noticing. I am not hungry and so I don't eat (this type of behavior while attractive for the chronically weight conscious is not to be encouraged in the pregnant woman). It's a fine line that you must walk when you have more than your own life to consider.

We have placed another offer on another house. It is a tri-level home with3 bedrooms, 1 � baths, Living room, Dining room, Family room, Kitchen and two car garage. There is 1400+ square feet of house on 1.9 acres of land. It's located in an excellent school district and worth quite a bit more than we will be paying if we get it. While the house isn't "turn-key" ready it will not require much money but a instead a lot of "sweat" to make it livable. Carpet out, enzymatic cleaner in and lots and lots of elbow grease and it will then be clean enough for my taste. The trouble with "short sale houses" (that is just this side of foreclosure) is that the folks have a tendency to trash the place on the way out. In this case I suspect the folks weren't all that clean in the first place so it's not just the clutter of moving out all upset like but also serious spring cleaning after a really extra long winter. Hopefully it will go through fast. I really love to clean but I'm not sure what kind of stamina I can count on as time goes on. Fingers and toes crossed, please.

This weekend was only a little less stressful than the last although without the jetlag it was not nearly as exhausting.

Saturday we squeezed in four houses to look at before dragging our butts to My Darling's nephew's baptism. It's not so much that we would miss it it's that his sister is Roman Catholic and that condemns us to an hour and a half of roman service just to witness a little dunking and crying. All those people promising to indoctrinate the little infant into the cult. The Priest spoke about the "G0d Delusion" and commented on how sad he was for the man because he didn't "know" god. He even commented on the book being part of the devils work to lead people astray. Seeing people participate in the rituals of their cult always catches me off guard. I know they find comfort in their own delusion (as do we all) but the reality of the rituals is comical from the outside. My favorite bit of silliness is the blessing of the babies. All the people in the church with arms raised in and almost perfect Hitler salute as the Priest asks god to bless the little children, as if you would need to ask. My mother-in-law asked again about baptism and again we told her we would not be doing that. Dinner afterwards focused on pregnancy (mine and advice from theirs), baby shower, houses and happy babies (there were many).

Sunday we took a jaunt down to Detroit (my first) and it looked just like LA, San Diego, Chicago, Buffalo and every other big city I have ever been to (except NYC which unique), a whole lote of depression and blight around a few community buildings who had seen better days. We had purchased tickets to the Science Museum to view the body exhibit. It was fascinating. I am incredibly intrigued by the inner workings of living beings and humans are no exception. Seeing the body like that was enthralling. I have often lamented my decision to pursue acting rather than biology and forensics in college. *sigh* What are you going to do.

Monday we registered for the baby shower at both Target and Babies-r-us (I'll post the registries later when I have completed them, I still have a few additions to make).

All in all a pretty tiring weekend.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!