Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-03-30 - 8:43 a.m.

Well I didn�t deliver on my promise to update directly after my formal announcement. It was a bit overwhelming and I quite frankly couldn�t arrange my thoughts into any semblance of rational discourse. After a few days receiving e-mails expressing sadness for my impending move and complimentary wish you wells I am finally able to put words to paper.

I am currently attempting to convince my company that I could continue to be an asset to the company from my new location with slight adjustments to my job description. Marketing is in need of a technical person to write technical papers and case studies for publication and presentation at trade shows. My background in writing and theatre make me ideal for this position. By modifying my current position with the addition of these tasks I can completely plug the holes in my workload created by my move off site. I would also be removing a considerable load from my boss, and the engineers (including the man who will ultimately be the deciding factor in the generation of this new position). Plenty of folks at this company work from their homes including other field service techs. In fact I am being considered for such a position for a competitor. This is totally doable it is just whether they like me well enough to try it out.

I am forced to sell myself again to this man who I truly don�t read. I can�t tell if he likes me or not and in such changes to the status quo how a person personally feels about you can often be the deciding factor.

My notice was graciously received but there was considerable disappointment expressed at the loss of the investment in training. Still the fact that I was not fished and thus I am not asking them to �beat� an offer (a tactic discouraged by all sites dedicated to job advice) makes the case an effort to remain at a company I truly enjoy working for and would like to remain with were family considerations not overwhelming my person desires.

I have just received approval from the VP to meet with him at 11 am and I will at that time present the new job description I have created for the position I would like to occupy if I am allowed to remain in the companies employ.

I have the blessing of the Marketing department who desperately need a person in that capacity and I can continue to provide most of the technical support that I currently supply.

Wish me luck!


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!