Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-10-07 - 4:17 p.m.

Well it�s official. I met with the new orthopedic surgeon today and he agrees with the old orthopedic that the metal needs to be removed. He says the window of opportunity to correct the malformed bone is closed but he would like to perform a nervectomy (I�m not sure of the spelling) which involves cutting small nerves associated with the wrist bones which are showing signs of arthritis. The idea, of course, is pain management. I am not thrilled with the idea of cutting nerves anywhere so I have reserved judgment until after the metal is removed and I have a better idea of the pain associated with the arthritis (right now the metal pain is overwhelming any other considerations).

The sooner the better it seems so the first (perhaps only) surgery is scheduled for October 21st. I am really looking forward to having the metal out. I am pretty confident things will get better pretty fast after that. Also, the Dr. will remove the horrible scar left from the first surgery and replace it with a much less unsightly version. My wrist is so very ugly right now that anything would be an improvement.

I don�t know how this will affect my competition in Nanowrimo this year. I will not be able to type right away, I can however use the voice activated system, so it just depends on my overall mood. I will be taking some time off for the surgery and perhaps just for fun a day or two in November. We�ll see.

This weekend My Darling and I are off to the desert yet again, this time with GPS in hand, to hike the slot canyons east of here and do a little geo-caching. What fun! For those of you unfamiliar, geo-caching is a modern day treasure hunt using global positioning software. You go to the GC website and download a co-ordinate and then find your way to the site and look around for the hidden �treasure� (usually a box filled with little goodies). The idea is not to take the goodies just to enjoy them and then leave them for the next guy. No, I don�t know what kind of goodies since I have never done this before nor do I know anyone who has that I could ask. I will, however, fill you in on Monday.

I love exploring (I swear I was born in the wrong century) and I am thrilled to see the same spirit in my man. My ex liked to travel but leave the adventuring to others. Better to sit in the barca-lounger with a beer and watch the world go by. The only thing I miss from those days is the game of pool. It�s not gone forever though. My Beau likes to play the game we just are more out door day adventurers. I imagine that we will find time for other activities when the novelty of the desert wears off a little. I don�t think I will ever become a bar fly again though. I don�t much like the company. Since he rarely drinks and I don�t drink at all we just don�t think about heading out on the weekends preferring to cuddle on the couch watching a movie. Sometimes we even play board games. With our weekend days filled with out door activities the weekend nights end early.

Ch-Ch-Changes�

I am still waiting for the tech service trip to materialize. According to my boss I will be in Texas for a couple of weeks but when is anyone�s guess. Of course if it falls in the month of November I will have plenty of writing time now won�t I? Have laptop will travel.

All in All life is good (dare I say that and tempt the jealous Gods into acts of destruction?) For the moment I am (don't tell anyone) happy and that is OK because I�m smart enough and good enough and Gosh darn it people like me.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!