Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-09-27 - 11:09 p.m.

Once again I am sitting in front of my computer with a headset on. With the month of November fast approaching any idea that I need to be able to put at least 1500 words a day into this computer in order to meet my goal I am forced to make this verbal program work. It takes a little getting used to. The hardest part is you have to put your punctuation in verbally, not my strongest suit. In fact I find punctuation difficult even when I�m typing. Those of you who know me may have noticed my penchant for parentheses. God I love parentheses. Of course I have no idea how to use parentheses with this particular program.

I suppose that I should examine my use of parentheses. Zuzu has suggested life is in the subtext thus my special use of parentheses. It�s how I share my inner voice. It�s what I have to say about what I have to say. And it�s what I have to say about me sometimes. I�ve never used italics very much, for that matter to never underlined very much either. This is actually quite interesting I�ve had to make a few corrections to generally speaking this is actually not all that hard. If I can teach it to actually follow my words who knows what could happen. See there I go thinking I can just talk at my usual pace and the machine to pick it up but it won�t. I�m from New York so of course I talked way too fast for this thing. Trouble is if I slowed down I lose my train of thought. The good news is to have my evenings to myself and there�s really nobody here to notice me talking to myself theoretically I could even do conversations within my book by simply talking to myself something quite used to, damn this thing just can�t keep up. Heaven forbid I should clear my throat you should see the words it comes up with for that sound.

Actually it�s not as bad as I thought. Machine just gives me a bunch of question marks when it doesn�t recognize the sound. From what I understand the more you use it the better it gets at understanding the way you speak, it�s a learning program. So long was trying to sit down on a regular basis and write I also have to practice writing with this verbal program. To not even sure I�ll have use of my wrist come November. There�s going to be another surgery, it�s going to be sometime in the next three months and I imagine there will be at least a month�s recuperative period. So do two forces outside of my control all I will have to either give up what I love or use this tool the best I can.

But I don�t have to like it, so there!


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!