Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-07-13 - 2:08 p.m.

Wednesday, hump day, two more days to payday. I am doing ok. I had a ladies night out last night which is really unusual for me. I have never had lots of �girlfriends� more so now because of the major difference in lifestyle between women my age and myself. I am, as you know, childless so there is very little I have in common with most women my age. Of course the women I was out with were all students in my Karate class so I have that in common with them. They are also younger than me and only one has children. Anyhoo, it was fun. It was nice to be around giggling happy people. I really do channel the emotions around me so being around someone who is depressed is really depressing to me. Sensitive or Co-dependent? Hmmm�.

My Beau had the evening to his self and seemed none the worse for wear. He played with tools and fixed the entertainment center, ironed his shirt for his interview today (the job is his if he wants it but it isn�t enough pay to live on so no decision yet) and cleaned the house up. I got home in time for hugs and cuddles and off to bed. This morning I was chatting with my co-worker about my night out and she inquired as to what my Darling did for dinner. I told her the truth; I have no idea because the subject didn�t come up. She told me a story about her husband going to bed without eating because she didn�t serve him dinner, an oversight he admonished her for the next morning. I was appalled and thankful that I have a man who can feed himself. He is also capable of doing his own laundry, washing dishes, vacuuming and general housekeeping chores without proclamation of his efforts when I finally get home. He doesn�t view these tasks as �doing me a favor� but as the normal activities of life. *Sigh* no wonder I�m in love.

I have had the pleasure of playing around (I call it organizing when I talk to my boss) with my new computer here at work. I have finally caught up with technology and stepped up to the XP platform. This means that programs from Office 2003 that didn�t work properly on my Windows 2000 platform as now available to me. I also have the new Acrobat (7.0) which has lots of wonderful features. The only glitch is that the Excel queries that I had been working on for the last two weeks didn�t make it to the new computer. I had been told the old computer had been wiped (OMG NO!!) but it turned out that someone was slacking (YAY!) and they are able to recover the folder so I will not have to repeat all that work.

I truly love the fact that I have learned so much about computers in the last four years. In September of 2001 I took a job where I would have my first PC ever in the workplace. I hadn�t had a computer in the home since 1985 and that was my parents� home. I bought my first PC (laptop) last fall. I have learned a great deal about computers in just four short years. I think it�s because I never had to unlearn anything and I had no preconceived ideas. For me Windows 95 was old and 2000 was new, I had no other knowledge base. I also had the privilege to begin after the worst of the bugs had been worked out. Computers don�t �crash� much anymore and the software is very user friendly. The only problem which still exists is the computers ability to eat time. I look up from my screen and half the day is gone. My back is cricked up and my hand (of the broken wrist) aches. Still it could be worse. I am employed in a job I mostly like, working with people I mostly like, living in an area I like (though can�t afford) and the sun is shining. Oh and guess what I just found out? Dogs can fly (at least secret agent dogs.) Today is a good day.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!