Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2014-07-02 - 9:24 p.m.

We arrived at the folks yesterday and, just as I suspected, they are not even close to ready. I spent the day packing, clearing furniture off and saying no. No we are not taking cassette tapes. Even if you had a cassette player they are at the very least 15 years old and the technology isn't big on longevity. I was fine with packing up the records they haven't played in 20 years at least the quality doesn't change much and there is something romantic about records. They even have some 78s. Oh and at some point someone wanted to learn conversational Russian.

There are way too many boxes labeled "albums" and, strangely, bells. I knew my Mom had some bells but 5 or 6 boxes worth? My father is living in complete denial, he thinks we can pack up in a day. I keep trying to throw stuff out and they keep rescuing the stuff from the trash. My folks sit on the normal side of hoarders but only just. There is so much around here, even though there are at least 50 boxes packed, except for somewhat bare walls you wouldn't know they were moving. Of course there are boxes all over the place and newspaper, mixed with the many papers, bits and pieces that have lived in their house longer than I have.

I love my parents and I really do want to take care of them but I am terrified they will transfer their incredible mess to my house.

I am not messy, not at all. My Darling even less so having come from a long line of anal retentive neat (I'd call them freaks but they are not really freaks they are just a lot better at cleaning than I am). Soooo you can imagine how My Darling fairs in this house. He doesn't want to touch anything or eat anything, if it were up to him we would pack their suitcases and rent a dumpster. I must admit I am attracted to that idea but they are my folks and you can not just demand them to give up everything, to be honest I am amazed they are coming at all. I figured I would have to fight until one of them passed away and then the other one would finally come. I am lucky to have both of them still and believe me I know it. But it doesn't help in the here and now. Now I just want to scream.

My brothers show up tomorrow and my older brother claims that he will be firm and make everything happen. I'm looking forward to seeing how this pans out. I'm tired, it's been a long day.

Heading off to bed soon.

Night.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



I am not liking this - 2014-07-29

My turn to move, sort of - 2014-07-17

Stuff and more stuff - 2014-07-14

Adventures in moving - 2014-07-13

Moving Day - 2014-07-05


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!