Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2014-02-25 - 1:20 p.m.

Today is a long wait to go into work. After putting the boy on the bus I am filling time until I leave for work around 4. I have a whopping 3 hour shift. It's crazy how little they are scheduling those of us who are long term but have limited availability. For years and years the folks who have stuck by through thick and thin were rewarded with a schedule to their liking. I used to work 25 hours in three days. This week I have 7. The reason given, if I want more hours I have to be available all the time. The kids with no family or obligations get all the hours regardless of how long they have worked for the company. The full timers are expected to work whenever and even where ever the company wants for, get this, 2.35 an hour. There is no raise for full timers even though they are expected to cover all of the front of house positions and be available on call all the time. Welcome to the right to work state where you have a right to work for less and less every year.

Pah, makes me crazy just thinking about it so enough.

Today I am filling the time with folding clothes, fixing the leaky toilet, tidying the kitchen and (shhhh) a little guilty playing of minecraft, all by myself. No child to get in the way. I must admit I like the game. Even the monsters don't bother me much. Creepers suck but I swear I hear them step. My Darling thinks I am crazy but just before the ssssss I hear the crunch of a step. First time it happened I looked around and saw nothing but he was there and blew me up a second later. Silly to waste time on a childish game but it is calming. The building and exploring take my mind off of things like work crap, house hunting and the many tasks I am waiting for the warmer weather to start.

But I feel guilty, guilty, guilty.

At least it is interactive, not just vegging in front of the TV (she rationalizes).

I can't lounge around playing games any more. Time to start getting ready for my ridiculously short shift tonight.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



Another bust - 2014-03-06

And....it's gone - 2014-03-03

Home? - 2014-03-02

Saturday - 2014-03-01

Where did that rabbit hole come from? - 2014-02-27


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!