Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2014-03-01 - 6:02 p.m.

Today was a long day filled with mostly Minecraft with the boy, a little laundry and dinner preparations. Minecraft was all about building a gigantic roller coaster which is really a lot of work but the kid loves it and we practice playing together, which is still quite difficult for him. I'm pretty sure he is age appropriate in his play but it never hurts to focus on good play habits. It wears me down though. It took several hours to build an impressive coaster complete with several way stations, waterfalls, lava falls and tunnels through mountains. Two breaks, one for breakfast and one for lunch but otherwise 4 hours straight.

Laundry, what's to say about that, washing is washing pretty much around the world. Well not really, there are still plenty of people who are not too far from rivers and rocks. Dear Anna points me to such unique books (well not just me, all of her readers, but I like to imagine she would be a bestie of mine if she and I lived closer. I imagine we would meet for lunch and she would say, you just have to read this book) Anyway, I bopped over the @mazon and looked up a recent of her reads, set behind the scenes of Austins P&P. It follows the servants of the household and their vantage of the life of the time. The first chapter begins with washing day. How horrible to be a servant in the past. I have always felt that living in the past would be horrible. I have never fantasized about the romantic side of any era. I know that I would never have been rich enough to live above any drudgery and I'm pretty sure the rich had drudgery too.

Honestly think about it. As a woman why would I ever want to live anywhere in any time in the past. Now is actually the best women have ever had it in history and as bad as it still is it is miles and miles ahead of even 50 years ago. Woman get to choose when and who they marry (in the US at least). We can own homes, work jobs, choose to be parents or not. We don't need our husbands permission to open a bank account or buy a car.

Don't get me started on feminine hygiene, no seriously think about how wretched that whole experience was. And maternal mortality rates, please. Babies dying from rubella, scarlet fever, measles, small pox, being disfigured by polio. Children forced to work in factories and mines rather than attend schools like the affluent families children. Literacy rates were low, books were rare and expensive and religion was truly the opiate of the people.

Nope, right here and right now, happy to be here.

Wait, where was I? That's right, laundry. Sheets, a load of colors and whites. Easy peesy as the child would say.

Dinner was porcupine rolls, not 100% right but tasted good. Never get the rice cooked all the way. If I pre-cook the rice it gets soggy, un-cooked chewy and I hate instant rice. Maybe next time.

Tomorrow we are off to see a couple more houses, pretty north of here so another all day. The kid was really good last week but I'm not sure how long he will tolerate being dragged around all Sunday. I think one of the reasons I spent so much time playing with the kid today we to make up for what I know he is in for tomorrow. We are preparing well. We will feed him just before we go, bring electronics from him to play with in the car and involve him in the looking, getting his feedback.

He is such a good little boy but even good boys get tired and cranky so really we need to be responsible and not ask too much from him. I see people all the time with children who are monsters but almost every time it is because of what the parent has done or neglected doing that leads to the melt down.

So fingers crossed all goes well, oh and maybe we find a nice home too.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



Snow Day & News - 2014-03-12

Grand house - 2014-03-10

Another bust - 2014-03-06

And....it's gone - 2014-03-03

Home? - 2014-03-02


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!