Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2014-04-16 - 6:13 a.m.

I am up early today which affords me some time to update. Lots of things accomplished over the past few days. Most of the painting is done, a little touch up in the master and a wall in the hall are all that is left. I was hoping to blend in the touch ups in the hall like I was able to in the rest of the house but unfortunately it didn't work so I am forced to pain the entire wall. It sucks because the wall is above the staircase so it is difficult to reach the upper portion. I am hoping I can get high enough. The spare room is done and the kids room, master, as I said, needs paint and also I have to wash the walls still. The bath will need a thorough cleaning but since it is newly remodeled (all but the wretched salmon tub that will wait for new owners to dispose of) it shouldn't take much. The bulk of the heavy lifting is over but there still remains a hefty amount of garage sale items to move to the pallet in the garage. That will empty the library making the hardwood floor ready for cleaning. I m an old fashions girl and have never really embraced the myriad of mopping choices preferring hands an knees for real clean.

The kitchen, dining room and living room are also pretty much squared away along with the garage (hubby has been working in that but I will need to clean and sweep to finish it off. That leave the laundry room and utility room. I still need to change the valve on the water heater. When it was installed My Darling gave me the wrong valve and I dutifully installed it. Seems there is a gas valve on the water heater. I am amazed that it doesn't leak, just goes to show a valve is a valve.

Oh, I mustn't forget, I still need to fix the curtains in the library. I am ashamed to admit that in almost 7 years I have never gotten around to replacing the sheets I temporarily hung in the bay window. My Darling had plans on replacing the hardware with an elaborate copper system but never found time and although I could have purchased actual curtains anytime I just didn't care. The windows were covered, no one was ever in there on the few occasions that we entertained (we have no friends so other than birthdays no one is ever over). My folks of course don't even notice such things. Funny thing though, the Realtor had no idea. From the entry they look as though they could be curtains and the color goes with the room. I have an idea as to how to transform them into curtains but I need to lay them out and try a few variations before I do anything permanent to them.

I will probably finish off the duvet cover while I have the sewing machine out. I am not happy with how the made-over quilt is handling it's new job as duvet cover. The snaps don't hold and the duvet creeps out of the cover at the bottom. While I can work around it for showings it is time consuming and since I will have to have the place show ready I don't want to have anymore fussing than necessary.

All in all it looks as though we are on track to list this weekend so starting right after Easter we will begin the waiting. It's been a long time since I sold a house, in a different market as well. Hopefully is won't be a long wait.

Oh, and just one word about the snow, enough already. Yesterday I wok to find over an inch on my patio furniture freshly pulled from storage. I'm done with the snow, I hope this doesn't become a pattern, I am not thrilled to be living in the great white north and 9 months of winter will suck the life out if me in no time. I need the sun.

Please wish me sunshine and all the energy I will need to make this last big push.

Gotta run, it's almost 7 o'clock and I have barely scratched the surface of the laundry.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



Quick update - 2014-06-19

The rush is coming - 2014-05-12

Everything will be alright. - 2014-05-02

Nothing happening - 2014-04-28

On the Market. - 2014-04-21


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!