Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2014-03-10 - 8:20 a.m.

We found a really nice house yesterday. It has five bedrooms, a great room, formal dining room, casual dining room and sunroom in addition to the requisite kitchen and laundry room. There are three full bathrooms as well and that is just on the main level. Downstairs in the finished basement there is an additional kitchen, family room and large play area as well as a half bath. Over 5000 square feet of living space in all. Can you say Wow!!. The fact that it is in our price range is crazy.

The downside: it is in a subdivision so only one acre of land (there is a wooded area and creek behind the house, some of which goes with the house and some that belongs to the house behind so it feels bigger). No chickens allowed in the township and my folks would not be able to live in the basement as it is not a walk out and there are no egress windows. The layout is conducive to living together with some privacy for each be we would, most definitely be living together. My Darling isn't sure about that, nor am I, but as my father reminds me we still need to think about after my folks are gone and how we would live.

We are not sure about how things will be when we are older. My Darling has talked about building a house to retire on like his folks did but he also has expressed and interest in traveling. You wouldn't have to twist my arm to get me to hope back into an RV and travel around when we have retirement money to live on even if we have to get little part time jobs to flesh things out. I still have places in the country I would love to see, not to mention places around the world I wish to see before I die. Of course there would have to be frequent visits to where ever the boy lands to see him and the grandchildren I hope to live long enough to meet.

So ups and downs and no for sures. As we have discussed, we could turn this down and six months from now have to take a much smaller house and still have the folks living with us. We might also find the perfect in-law arrangement if we keep looking. You don't know.

I like this house, I like the size and the fact that it is in a subdivision. Normally I would like to be out in the middle of nowhere but the kid needs playmates. I am sad that there isn't a jetted tub or hot tub, mama gets cold to the bone in the winter, but it has a sunroom (for vitamin D) good for both my mother and me, and My Darling has suggested we invest in a sauna. We have run across several in houses we have looked at. It would be nice to warm up in the winter, even if it is temporary.

Working a lot of hours this week. Of course after complaining about the minimal hours I have been getting I can't complain but I know that after they hire people to replace the ones who have quit they will reduce my hours again, can't have people making enough to live on now, gotta keep them hungry and desperate or they might revolt.

I probably won't be back until Wednesday unless there is something momentous to report on the house front.

Gotta get ready for work now.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



One box at a time - 2014-03-27

A Grand Mistake - 2014-03-24

3 am I must be lonely - 2014-03-20

- - 2014-03-18

Snow Day & News - 2014-03-12


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!