Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2014-02-21 - 9:27 a.m.

Time flies when you are not paying attention. There is work (which at the moment is even more challenging as if that seemed possible), it is winter, particularly dark and dreary this year, and we have decided to move into a larger home so that my folks can come and live with us. The plan is to get one of those places with an "inlaw" set up allowing each of us to have our own space but bringing them close so I can help them as their ability to take care of everything begins to wane. while I am happy then are taking steps to get out from under the house and coming closer I dreading the level of work coming my way. There are the many chores that must be completed in our current home, things we let go unfinished because they didn't affect our day to day life but would deter buyers. Then there is the sifting and packing of us and my folks and of course the new place will inevitably have things that need doing before we can move in. There are so many actions that must be completed before we can settle into any new life with my folks I am exhausted just thinking about them. It will be nice to have them close though. I will worry a little less I think. I will also personally benefit from the live in childcare that might actually allow me to take full time work. The if comes are at the far end of a very long stretch of hard work. I barely pictured what it would mean living here when we first looked at this place. Hugely pregnant and feeling so very adrift with no home in which to "nest". I suppose it was best though because I had my baby boy with me in the same room after he was born because there was no else to put him. I had to move him away from me when we got into the house because there was no room for him in our room and neither my Darling nor I were comfortable co-sleeping. My Darling is a bit of a bed hog and I find myself pushed around a bit, the poor baby would have been crushed. So he was put in his own room and despite wishing each night for Mommy to sleep with him, settles for sleeping with his bed buddies.

The boy isn't really old enough to have a social circle. He is "friends" with the other kids in his class and we have maintained a friendship for him with a boy he met in Pre-school with whom he subsequently attended preK. The "best friend" is now in a different school but his parents and I have kept up the relationship because they get on so well and both of them are "onlies". He will be moving further away from his friend which may complicate the relationship to the extent that he may fall off. I tell myself he is in kindergarten, he will get over int in fact he may not even remember it when he is older. I imagine all parents think on the effect moving will have on their children and worry. On the up side he will gain a multi-generational home. I think the greatest loss our generation has had as a part of our "middle class" experience is the experience off multi-generational house holds. While I am sure some folks were not at all thrilled with having to co-habitat with their in-laws, there is something to be said for the older generations effect on the kids. For the record, it was My Darlings idea that my folks move in with us, I never would have suggested it. But his Mom had every intention of moving her father to her home had he nit died before she could persuade him and he would have cared for his mother in our home had it been feasible.

I am sure I will need to document this in as much for the record as for the stress reduction such venting provides. Much the same as My Darling should train for a marathon. It will take some time and perhaps I will have to do a larger share of the prep work but it will reduce his stress and that is very important when you are ripping up your life and moving it elsewhere.

A moving we will go, hi ho the dairio a moving we will go.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



Home? - 2014-03-02

Saturday - 2014-03-01

Where did that rabbit hole come from? - 2014-02-27

Waiting to wait - 2014-02-25

Houses - 2014-02-24


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!