Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2012-11-13 - 9:00 a.m.

Snow!

Yes , you heard me right, snow. It's not surprising, it is November, so snow is pretty much inevitable. I just hate to see it, every year. Winter is not my friend. I hear people cheering about the snow, winter sports enthusiast who wait all through the long hot summer for this, the first snow, boding many happy days to come. All a matter of perspective. So how do I turn my dread into a more pleasant feeling. I guess looking for the things I like about the winter. Of course the holidays are nice, but then this year finances have turned Christmas into a stressful thing. My son isn't old enough or selfish enough to demand much or feel disappointed at the gifts or lack there of. In fact we put much more attention to shopping for others.

We decided not to lie to the kid about Santa. We may regret that in the future but it still seems a lie, even though it is a sweet one, and thus contrary to what we are trying to teach him. We do, however, stress that the holiday is about giving. We are teaching him that Santa is an idea and we all get to be Santa for the ones we love. My Darling and I have always stuffed each others stockings and the stockings are the only thing we don't explain, kind of a don't ask don't tell but when he asks I will let him help me stuff Daddy's stocking. All the gifts come from someone he knows. I have been chided by my mother for potentially ruining the illusion for others but it isn't my problem if other people have decided to lie to their kids. I just going to explain to him that other parents like to pretend there is a Santa and it is nice to pretend for the other kids. If he tells them anyway I will not give him too much grief unless he does it out of meanness.

Thanksgiving is speeding up on us and we will travel to my folks for the holiday. We will not have to speed home for My Darling's family holiday since they have decided to skip it this year. We pretty much called it. We knew that after My Darling's mother died they would not do Thanksgiving anymore. We are lucky they are celebrating Christmas. Not exchanging gifts, even among the children, and no dinner, just cookies and snacks on an afternoon before Christmas. Feels perfunctory and cool to me but my family is sloppy and very demonstrative.

It's really January I dread, and February to follow. Those two months are the worst, with March always a crap shoot, could be fine could be a horror, no way of knowing.

For now, just a light dusting and predictions of a return to warmer weather but it's coming and it makes me shiver.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!