Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2012-01-29 - 10:05 a.m.

So I know I mentioned My crazy Darling having running. Right now he is running, in the snow. Not just through the snow, it is actually snowing. It is also freezing outside and I am not just saying that for effect, it is, in fact, 31 degrees out. Crazy.

Now don't get me wrong, I don't think there is anything wrong with running. I used to be pretty good at it (nothing fantastic mind you, just better than the average bear). I even tried running in the snow back when I lived near the snowiest part of NY. But the human body isn't made for the cold. The air tortures the lungs and freezes the extremities, quickly. I am impressed by his dedication but, wow, I mean really, wow.

I'm sitting here in my family room, two layers of clothes and gloves in my pockets readied for when my fingers get too cold (and they will get too cold today, it's a guarantee.) My Darling even bought me USB gloves to keep my hands warm as I type. They aren't perfect (the fingers are out so as not to interfere with typing) but they help. I am still cold. In an effort to save gas (and thus money) we have turned down the thermostat to 63. I am wishing even more for this job just so I can be warm in the winter. Just so you know, it was my idea to turn down the thermostat, My Darling isn't torturing me for fun. I hate being cold but I hate having no money more. I do get to enjoy baking in the tanning bed a couple of times a week so there is that. It is an investment but it serves twofold. Not only do I get warm to the bone but I get some much needed UVA rays and boost my vitamin D. Getting through the winter without being lowed by depression requires exercise (treadmill time) vitamin D and emotional TLC.

Of course this trip to CA will go a long way to easing me through the winter. I am sure I will be sad to come home again but who knows, maybe I will be returning to a new job and the new adventure that entails. At least this time the job is in my field.

There is a whole lot of uncertainty right now which makes it hard to make plans. My Darling wants to run the Chicago Marathon. While I am happy he has found something he enjoys and excites him, the investment (in time and money) could be and issue depending on my employment. Just as an aside, I find it funny that I suggested running as a workout option when my Darling complained he was plateauing in his weight loss. I found running pushed me over the hump in my weight loss so many years ago. He was resistant at first and now he wants to run a marathon. Just like me and martial arts, I was dragged into my first class kicking (poorly I might add) and screaming and 8 years later got my black belt. I have taught on and off since then. Oh, that is something else I might be able to reincorporate into my life, if a new job brings in more money.

Marathons, martial arts, money paid to the last outstanding credit card, not to mention re-establishment of my sense of working self. So much hanging out there in the possible future. So much that might not happen without this opportunity.

With less than two weeks before we head west I have many other things to focus on. I just need to reset my mind to the tasks at hand and let the rest of it fall where it may.

Pretty soon my Mansicle will get home and our Sunday will begin in earnest. Brunch, some weekend chores, afternoon movie followed by dinner and early to bed. Another week will fly by and next weekend we will be on the brink of our vacation. With luck I will have a second interview in there somewhere.

Off to fold clothes and run a couple of loads of laundry.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!