Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2012-01-15 - 1:29 p.m.

I just bought a trip to CA for me and mine. I am sick to my stomach over how much money I just spent. Both my Darling and I want to go to CA but of course it is mostly me. I'm the one with the friends getting married. It would have been fine but for the engine in my car dying and having to spend over three grand to replace it. We spent our trip on the car and now we are into our, as yet to even be filed for, tax return. Like most Americans we don't have a massive savings, nothing to hold us over in a pinch. There would be no choice but one, or both of us working like dogs at two or more jobs to pay the bills. Every day I see comments from people (who have jobs) about how lazy anyone without a job is. I haven't had a job (career type job) since we left CA. I work, and I could work more but then my son would be in daycare more and that would cost more. Still I work 25 hours a week. I have worked my entire life, I am not lazy. But me aside, I don't understand people who think it is ok to say that everyone out of work should work multiple jobs, 60-70 hours a week just to make ends meet. They think nothing of decreeing that all the middle and lower classes be forced into employment bondage, forgoing anything resembling a life because of the current economy but asking for any slight sacrifice from above is anathema.

They think asking corporations to temper their bottom line in favor of paying living wages to their employees and putting money into the economy that provides it's bread and butter is asking to much of them, that it is punishing job creators. With such a small portion of this country enjoying the fruits of the majority's labor where are the defenders coming from? Not making more money than you can spend in 10 lifetimes is not punishment. Pretending that you are somehow worth 500 times more than the 1000+ people who keep your company buzzing because you sit in the big office is ego run amok. Bonuses would go down if wages were forced up. Prices would have to remain within reach because otherwise people would stop buying the product, remember when orange prices climb people buy apples.

I believe that humans should take care of each other. I am not for accumulated wealth at all cost. I don't think there is anything wrong with pursuing monetary rewards but they shouldn't come at the expense of basic human rights. Every human should have the right to shelter, food, medical care and the opportunity to work and contribute to society. No parent should have to choose between food and medical care for their child. Reproduction should not be limited to the wealthy. The idea that you should be able to "afford" children is and elite mentality that doesn't take into consideration the number of poor families who have spawned great humans. Wealth does not automatically grant value except the artificial kind that can be bought and sold.

I weep for a country that claims to follow Christ but who obviously knows nothing of the man. I am saddened by the glut of politicians who drop his name and cater to a voting block who lack the compassion they are called to show by their own book. They ignore the gospel teachings in favor of ancient text and secondary writings that support their prejudices and bigotry. If a man is kind and compassionate he is called a fool and they are on their way to nominating someone who more resembles Mr. Gecko than the Christ he and his ilk worship. And there is no apology made for this failing. They don't even strive for better.

Compassion is dead and in it's place has risen a cold contempt for anyone who would ask for fairness and equity.

Don't mind me I just reduced my safety net and I'm feeling a little dizzy right now.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!