Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2012-01-08 - 7:57 p.m.

The weekend is just about over. Today was busy, not for us, just for me. Breakfast (pancakes) followed by moving the pantry in it's entirety to the pullout shelves in the kitchen and the small appliances, storageware and baking paraphernalia to the pantry. A flip flop if you will. When we first moved in I tried this set up but the shelves that were in the pantry were too small and narrow with inconvenient dividers that didn't lend it to appliance storage. Last year (or the year before I forget) we replaced the shelves and so I finally tried switching it up. So far it looks as though it might work. We will see how it plays. In the middle of that I stopped and watched a movie with the family. I will never turn down a chance to cuddle with my kid while he is still interested in Mommy hugs.

Once the kitchen was back together it was time to start dinner. I opted for one of my favorites, home made mac and cheese with hotdogs (from my hometown, best in the world IMHO). Then folding clothes and a little internet surfing and bam, it's bed time for bonzo. The kid was funny, he finished up his game on the computer and came over to me just minutes before his bedtime and announced "I'm done Mommy". I let him know it was just in time for bed, he was sad for two seconds and then climbed up on my back for his "dinosaur ride" up to bed. It was a nice quick off to bed, two books and all. All in all not to bad for a Sunday. At the moment I am watching a show on marathons (well actually My Darling is watching the show I am writing but since he keeps talking to me about it I am splitting my attention between here and there.) I wish I had kept up with my running from when I was in my thirties but I botched the great shape I was in with smoking, drinking and otherwise abusing my body. Now, while I am not horribly out of shape, I am a shadow (albeit a pudgy shadow) of the athlete I once was. Winter saps away my strength every year. In CA I was able to stay in shape even with just half effort now it talks everything I have not to lose ground every year.

I just turned 48. That is crazy to me. My son is 4 my husband is soon to be 34 and I just don't want to fall behind them. I am afraid that 5 or 10 years from now I'm going to sitting around waiting for them because I will be too old and out of shape to join them in their fun.

Marathon. Really? Yeah, um, I'm pretty sure that's a no for me. Not that I don't think I could do it if I really wanted but I'm not willing to lose the time necessary to get you ready. I don't have enough time with my family, why would I want to take more time away? I would like to stay in shape, I want to try and keep myself as young as I can but I am not willing to trade my family time for the ability to say "I ran a marathon". Of course if we all start running as a family that might be nice but my son and husband are going to outpace me forever so I will be alone anyway.

Oh well, I still have one more load of clothes to fold. No rest for the wicked.

G'night

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!