Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-12-02 - 8:55 a.m.

Snow.

I have had my fill of snow in my life. Year after year from my childhood until I left my hometown I suffered snow. There were blizzards periodically just for fun. After eight years of temperate bliss I returned to the snow. This is year five of winter and I'm just as done as I was so long ago. But life is a trade off and in exchange for the snow I get a home and a family. I do appreciate the two but it is still depressing to face the three to four months of cold and snow.

Christmas is a bit of brightness in the winter dark. This year will be a little sparse, replacing the engine in the car depleted our savings considerably and business hasn't been great so I am making just enough to cover the groceries and bills. Of course we are so much better off than many of Americans I can't at all feel sorry for myself. I wonder sometimes how certain people sleep at night living like a king while so many people are wondering how they were going to deliver a Christmas to their innocent children.

I am lucky. I still have my parents both of whom are pretty healthy and mobile. They will come for Christmas and enjoy their little grandson. My husband has a good job complete with benefits so my medication is covered and myself and my son are able to go to the doctors without fear of how we are going to come up with the ridiculous charges slapped on the uninsured. There is food in the freezer and our cupboard is far from bare.

When I am feeling down I run my way through the above and feel a little better.

So there is snow and there is cold but I have a warm home, someone to snuggle with and a sweet baby boy (I know he isn't a baby but he will always be my baby). An embarrassment of riches, yes?

I still have a couple more hours before I have to head out into the snow. What I need is more coffee and a hot shower.

May you be safe and warm where ever you are.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!