Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-11-16 - 9:43 p.m.

I'm waiting for my laundry to dry (I need my work shirt for tomorrow) otherwise I would be in bed. I have moved back and forth from anger and apathy over the events of the world in general and my life. I am upset by the lack of understanding of the recent OWS movement. I read peoples comments belittling, denigrating and devaluing what they are doing (yes I know all three woulds mean pretty much the same thing but I can't find enough words to describe the vitriol that accompanies the criticism of this movement. I never know whether I should even waste my time "correcting" the many people who don't get what is a pretty simple message. I can't help but wonder if who these people are and what world they live in because they don't seem to occupy the same reality I do. I find it interesting that where I see shades of grey they see black and white and where I see black and white they see, well a different, less compassionate black and white. I guess I'm the only one who sees the grey.

People say "I don't want to pay for all those lazy drug addicted welfare people" yet Florida passes a law requiring drug tests for welfare and 98% of the applicants pass. This means that 2% of welfare applicants use drugs. I am pretty certain the national average for drug use in this country is higher than 2% meaning that the welfare people are less likely to be drug addicts. There are lazy poor people, there are also mentally disabled poor people who run the gamut from clinically disabled to just not smart enough to do more than push a broom or dig a ditch. This is where it gets sticky for me. Are they saying they are ok with letting someone who is obviously unable to excel in a traditional format struggle for enough to eat and a roof over their head because they are not smart, or pretty (because lets face it you don't have to be smart if you are pretty), or born to a well to do family (because daddies money can buy you anything even a presidency)? I have seen the words "some people just have no value" (Jaw drop, incomprehensible guttural) Really, they want to go there?

Why does the party of "God" want people to suffer and die if they didn't win the genetic lottery? No money, no smarts, not pretty, you LOSE! They would happily allow children to go without because Mom is an idiot who can't make good decisions. Not the kids fault but there you are, the only children that are worth protecting are the ones that haven't been born yet. They want to outlaw abortion but don't want any part in supporting unwanted children and children of the poor.

They sit in judgement of the country and paint in broad strokes:

"OWS is a bunch of lazy hippies who expect the world to give them everything"

Really? All of them? All of the people who go to part time bullshit jobs and then head out to spend the night protesting the unfair advantage some Americans have over others? All of the elderly who see their benefits being slashed so GE won't have to pay taxes again next year? Them too? And the Nurses and Doctors, firemen and veterans parents and their children who face more years of just scraping by while the government pushes more money us to the "job creators"? All a bunch of hippies.

And what about job creators. We know what creates jobs, I took economics, what creates jobs? Demand. It is simple. Businesses hire when they can no longer meet their demand with the staff they have. over the past ten years businesses have taken advantage of lean business models to cut their operations to the bone. This has improved their bottom lines without innovation or demand but now there are fewer people who can afford to be consumers of anything but necessity. AS long as demand remains low businesses will not hire period. Tax cuts will go directly to their bottom line, they will pass the profit off to their investors, they will not hire, there is no demand. And it wouldn't make sense to ask them to. Government is in a unique position to drive the economy but not with austerity cuts and tax cuts but by investing in the infrastructure.

We could put the returning veterans to work rebuilding our country. We could use a bit of nation building here. It would support our troops returning from war, improve our infrastructure and pump money back into our economy. They must be limits placed on the amount of money a small group of people can with hold from the economy. If you will not invest in the country we will tax it. Sitting on huge wealth is bad for the economy, it's bad for business and it is bad for the people who have lost track of their humanity to the extent that they can justify millions in compensation for sinking the ship. Some people have become over valued and others undervalued, some have even been judged "of no value" but actually all humans have value. All humans are deserving of the basics of life, shelter, food, family, healthcare and the ability to pursue happiness. he Koch brothers are no more valuable than the Smothers brothers, or Darryl and his other brother Darryl. Humanity is a spectrum and value can not be determined from within. We are all of value or none of us are.

It's amazing how much I can write about this and yet it is of no value (I feel I have value but my words may as well be unwritten for all the matter it makes.)

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!