Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-07-15 - 6:15 p.m.

Life is still pretty nice at the moment, work is work but not in an oppressive, OMG I'm going to lose my brain if I have to do this way, it's just work. This week has flown by as the summer has so far. The race is racing upon us and I am still running a 10+ minute mile which while not horrid, is by no means respectable for me based on my past. Of course I am not 30 years old anymore, heck I'm not 40, I'm almost 50 (a little over two years away does qualify as almost right?). I know I shouldn't be feeling bad about my running but some days I do. I ran today, after five days without running (which may explain my lack of improvement). This is how that comes about:

I ran on Sunday, yay me.

Monday: worked, swing shift which means 11 am to 8ish pm

Tuesday: Worked swing again 10am to 8ish pm

Wednesday: To the Zoo for the day, getting home in time for dinner, put the kid to bed and watched a movie with My Darling.

Thursday: worked again, only till 2ish but followed by a grocery trip (postponed from Wednesday to make room for the Zoo), made dinner, put the kid to bed and watched a movie with my Darling.

And now it is Friday. That is how 5 days go by without a run. I got up this morning first thing and ran just under three miles. The route I have comes in .07 miles short of three. My Darling has upped his run to four miles and is mapping out a five mile. I remember when I was like that and I wonder why I can't get there now. Of course I only wonder for a minute before I must just refer to the above and how you can go five days without running. My Darling is running every day, like I used to when I was really running, when I could run for miles and miles. How do I get to run every day? Skip dinner? Get up really early on my work days and push the kid around in the jogger (hate, hate, hate that!)? Come home from long day at work and head out for a run (possible maybe if it isn't too late but that will only be possible for another month or so and then the dark will come sooner and it won't be safe to run that late.) I need to do something if I want to get my legs back. I miss the sheer joy that would come there in the middle of a run right between the Crap this hurts beginning of the run and the God Damn this hurts of the end of the run. The better a runner you are the shorter the beginning and end are and the longer the middle. I want my middle back. Right now it is awful all the way through. Why then, do I run? Because I know if I keep on doing it I will feel better. I will look better. And I will stay younger in mind and body.

Now if I could only get the garage finished. I forfeited work on the garage to shop at the thrift store today. What a nice day it was. I left the kid home with My Darling and shopped in individual bliss. No cajoling, no talking just quiet digging through looking for the golden find. And did I find. When I was in college I was required, for my Shakespearean acting class, to memorize and orate a sonnet. I chose Sonnet #18. I found a shirt that had this very sonnet, well most of it, artfully played about the front back and sleeves. I was tickled to have this poem, which I can still recite despite the 20+ years since I first committed it to memory, as fashion. It's a small thing but I like it.

Pleased with myself :)

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!