Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-06-26 - 8:57 a.m.

Yesterday's trip to the garage Tupperware sale yielded much booty. After near 4 dollars in 10 cent and 25 cent intervals I counted out my items in front of the sellers but when they tried to collect I let them know I wasn't finished, just wanted to make check out a little easier, adding up as I go. I ended up at an even 7 dollars, and what a fine collection of pieces. Of course now I will need to find places to store the new containers. I will weed out some of my non Tupperware but some will need to stay as "throwaways". I am contemplating a garage sale of my own but the time investment just doesn't seem worth it. You spend eight hours hanging around watching people pick through your crap paying a quarter here and a dollar there and sometimes sifting through and buying nothing (your crap thereby being officially deemed crap by strangers). I have only held two garage sales, the first was a colossal fail ending in a "porch give away". Funny story, I had a blender that worked fine but had no lid, it was labeled "no lid" and carted off during the swarm that descended on the porch when the neighborhood (not the finest) realized I was serious about giving it all away. The following day she returned upset because the blender had no lid. When I told her it was labeled as such and I used to use a sauce pot lid she went away grumbling. I would have offered her money back but then it was free, right?

The second one garnered a better profit but I still made less than minimum wage for my trouble. Of course I was single then and there was a lot of things I could be doing but now I have a three year old and it is important he have playtime at home in his sandbox, playset, and pool. There are also dozens of chores that need to be done on the weekends. I don't work Friday or Sunday. I could in fact work on my garage remodel if I want. So the multitasking might make the effort less of a time suck. Heck I often spend a few hours on my days off surfing the web and with a laptop I could relocate that activity to the garage area.

So the should I or shouldn't I becomes more 50/50 at that point. Up until now I have freecycled or donated my castoffs. This has allowed me less bother and quick disposal of use able but unwanted items. I will need to ponder this further. Have you ever done it and if so, was it worth it?

Back to my day. Last night we tripped over to the balloonfest. Nothing like dozens of hot air balloons launching to make a three year old squeal. Then home to late bedtime for the toddler(we may pay for that today, lack of sleep leads to meltdowns.) My Darling and I popped popcorn and settled back to watch a movie. All in all a nice day.

Today we are smoking a pork shoulder in our new smoker so we will be home all day (the instructions recommend babysitting the unit). Maybe a nice dip in the pool later and if I have my way we will get down the carpet. I will run today too, I promise.

Well I'm off to make breakfast (corned beef hash and eggs).

Have a nice Sunday!

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!