Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-02-27 - 2:39 p.m.

So I have been on here several times this week and began several entries but abandoned them in favor of sparing you the soap box ranting on political matters. The world is melting under our feet and while I am happy to see common folks stepping up and having their say I am not optimistic of the outcomes. Of course you need to know that I am a cynic and inside of every cynic is a disappointed idealist. I want to believe in the good of mankind but there are just more examples of the bad, even now.

I wrote and deleted, wrote and deleted and just avoided this place until I finally decided that I have to write or I will have lost momentum yet again.

Speaking of momentum, I am trying to keep up on the exercise. I have a sizable piece of equipment hanging out in my living room staring me down every day. I hate treadmills, they are a poor substitute for running on the road but it is all you have in the winter. Ok, it is all I have since I refuse to bundle up and shuffle through the snow, sucking frigid air to cut my lungs, sooo, treadmill it is. I am very out of shape from my former days of glory and they weren't all that glorious to start with. I could run a few miles, not fast but continuous and while that is nothing to sneeze at its not leaps and bounds ahead of where I am, it just feels like miles away. I have only missed one day of running since I started two weeks ago and I have moved from 1 mile up to 3.5, still walk/run though. The last run I couldn't seem to keep up the run but I continued at a brisk walk whenever I had to stop running so I still logged in 3.5 miles. It's only going to get me close since, as I said, treadmill time isn't anything close to road time.

Also new, that has nothing to do with polotics, My Darling and I managed a date night. A niece came over and watched the kid for the night allowing us to enjoy dinner and a movie. It was really nice not to have to be a parent during dinner. We didn't have to censor our language, spell anything, or threaten timeout once. We had a wait between dinner and the movie and sat in the car talking for an hour, also nice although we were both tired and it was tempting to nap or just head home but I am glad we stuck it out, the movie was fun, nothing special but action is my favorite choice for the big screen. Romantic comedies or dramas seem to play just fine from our large TV and surround sound but action is just more exciting larger than life.

Today is a lazy Sunday and my family is lounging in comfy clothes watching shows playing games and updating diaries (guess which one I'm doing). I still have laundry to do and dinner to prepare but there is no real rush. Of course if I am going to run I'll need to get to that soon before the dinner prep begins (I don't run after dinner).

Not much to say but I am really preoccupied and it is a wonder that I can say anything at all aside from passionate ranting.

off to run (I hope)

Here's hoping your weekend is restful and pleasant.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!