Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-02-13 - 9:54 a.m.

Yesterday I got the house most of the way clean, still have to vacuum today and make sure the dishwasher is empty for the next two days an important thing since My Darling will absolutely take care of all the dishes if the dishwasher is empty. Don't get me wrong, he will empty the dishwasher, he's not a grunter, but often they are trying to get a lot done during their nights alone and the boy is a challenge by definition. It just makes things easier for both of us it the thing is empty going in. The house should be clean by the time I head back to work.

We went out for Valentine's Day last night. Way too much (and too expensive) Sushi but yummy, yum yum. We don't hit Sushi very often, not like when we were in CA and they had all you could eat just a little more expensive than any chain restaurant, so the expense isn't bad comparatively. The boy came along, we are still without adequate baby sitting services. We talk about using the older niece but so far that's as far as we have got. When the weather improves I want to see if we can spend some biking time sans kid, I miss it but it's just not doable with him in trailer, and I can't even imagine trying to trail with him on the bike of one of out bikes. Sometimes I am still sketchy on some points in the trail. I used to be better but it's been a long time since I have strung together a couple of sessions. I'm rusty and I wasn't exactly proficient when I was all shiny. Lucky for us the boy is quite well behaved in public. Late in the dinner he started to fuss but a promise of ice cream was enough to chase the fussy away.

The boy is really good but he has a couple of problems one of which is he gets frustrated way too easily. Not being able to manage the ice cream to the spoon sends him whining heavily. After you show him how to do it he insists on continuing with his way and crying when it doesn't work. It's pretty frustrating for us. It's not just food either, he is like that with anything. A train track that won't go together or a block that doesn't quite fit the way he wants is enough to send him into a tizzy. The other day he fussed and squealed so bad I thought he was hurt. I ran upstairs to find him screaming over a toy not cooperating. I put him into timeout for scaring me. We threated to take the toys away from him when he gets like that. Not idle threats either, we have followed thru (we always follow thru, it's really important he knows we are serious). Still he persists and it makes me worry for his future. I worry that he will be one of those kids (and eventually one of those adults) who gets overwhelmed easily, or who quits too easily, or spends his life being upset anytime things don't go the way they should. I am not sure where he gets it, both My Darling and I are persistent, stubborn types. The boy has always been that way, even before he was walking and talking we way responding to challenges with tears and anger. What's a mother to do? Seriously, what do I do?

My Darling and I put the boy to bed as soon as we got home and enjoyed a romantic comedy. Unfortunately my reproductive system was uncooperative so we only cuddled before heading off to sleep. We enjoyed some time this morning when the boy slept in for a half an hour. When he wakes up he used to call for me but we agreed, a couple of months ago, that he was old enough to get up on his own but with the caveat that he find us. Some mornings I am already up and about when he gets up and after checking the bedroom he will go pee and then come down and find me. If I am still in bed he will crawl in for a little cuddle time. We never co-slept in our house, in fact, other than the first month in our apartment when the crib (actually it was a pack and play) was in our room and the first night in the house (to sooth Mommies fears) he has always slept in his own room with the door closed. He never tried to crawl out of his crib instead he called for me to get him out. When we finally moved him to a toddler bed (for no particular reason other than mom thought he was old enough. Then he would call from his bed, not even getting up to play. Some of the oddities of the boy are pretty convenient. My Darling co-workers complain of the trouble their toddlers would get into while they slept. I have to admit I like the cuddle time. My Darling is less than thrilled sometimes but he doesn't get to sleep in but one day a week most weeks so he feels disturbed. I'm just used to it (although from time to time I wish for a little more sleep time.) I must admit I reach for the terrible practice of putting a movie in for the boy to watch while My Darling catch a few more winks. I claim sleep deprivation as motivation.

Today we are scheduled for a family birthday party which will take up the afternoon. I predict the day and the weekend will be over far too soon and I will be trudging off the work (on Valentines day) all day. We are having a special Valentines dinner for two which will draw more people (they hope) which means we might be overstaffed or too busy. No way of knowing so I will just have to wait and see.

Time for breakfast.

Happy Valentines Day!!

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!