Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-02-04 - 8:51 a.m.

I have been feeling pretty pissy lately. I read the paper and the internet news and I get upset, every time. Day after day I read of people protesting the natural desire to tax the folks who can afford it and the misconception that the main expense of our government is all those lazy welfare queens and social security scammers. And what about those unemployed leeches expecting that they should receive funds to hold them above water until they return to the workforce in a suitable position, W@llmart is always hiring right, and Macdonalds, never mind the fact that you can't keep a roof over you head on the slave wages that pass for minimum wage around here. If you wanted a better job you should have got a college degree. What's that you say, you have a college degree, well then you must just like being out of work because everyone knows there are jobs out there for people who want to work. 90% of the country are employed so you must just be lazy wanting a free handout from the government. Don't you understand the only folks that get a free ride around here are the ones who make the jobs and the rules? Corporations hold the government hostage. Give us tax breaks or we will ship jobs overseas. Oh wait, we are going to do that anyway, so give us the breaks so we will help you keep your cushy job in Washington.

And don't get me started on the so called Tea party. This is not to say they don't resemble the original tea party who felt that they too shouldn't be required to pay pesky taxes. Rich guys who wanted to keep more of their "hard earned" money. Taxes are for the poor and middle class. Those of us that got our money the old fashioned way (we inherited it) know that we should be allowed to keep as much as our tax lawyers can hide. How ever will I enjoy my vacation in Monaco thinking about losing that extra ten percent of my income (enough to fund all of those so called welfare queens for a year). Yes that's right, the interest I make on my pay is 10 time your annual income but I work hard for my money. Not like you lazy fruit pickers and waitresses and such. Once again you should have bought a college degree like I did (well, Mummy and Daddy did). You say you earned your degree the hard way, paying your own way, well you must have done something wrong or you wouldn't be poor right now. The poor have always deserved their fate you know, they are lazy leeches on society. They could be rich if they just worked harder (sorry, even I couldn't say that with a straight face).

It's not that I expect them to pay more, really, but how about paying the same percentage I do. You need me to head out to you stores and hand over my hard earned money (and my money is hard earned, a whole day of running around delivering food). Cut the rest of us a break and pay your fair share. It's not too much to ask, your fair share, the same percentage of your income as the rest of us. If I don't pay my taxes I go to jail but corporations skip out on their tax bill they say they need to keep the funds or they will have to cut jobs to make sure they increase their profits every year. Talk about leeches.

If one company came forward and said "look, we are not going to let one person go for two years, and we are going to lower our prices by 5% until the economy rebounds" I would rush out and buy their product whether I needed it or not, just to support a company that gets it. They sit on their money (some of which was gifted by the governemnt to keep things afloat, and say, "we won't start hiring until the economy improves". The economy will stay stagnant until people feel safe, confident that they won't be put out on the streets to satisfy the "shareholders" (read rich guys) that their gravy train will continue to grow exponentially. Everybody is waiting for the other guy to move. If we don't spend they won't hire and we won't spend till they hire. Meanwhile they are the ones who hold all the cars.

And by the way, why don't we Americans rise up, like they have in England, and said pay up or we won't support your cheating ways. Maybe once Wikileaks releases the names of corporations dodging taxes Americans might get sick of it and do something. I wouldn't mind stepping up but I can't organize anything sizable, after all, I have never tweeted, and I have like thirty friends on FB and half of them are related to me. I am neither personable, nor charismatic but I am hoping someone (or several someones) who have the skills I lack, take up the banner. I promise I will help carry if someone will please just get the ball rolling.

We can not go silent into this dark night, we must Rage, rage against the dying of the light (to borrow, somewhat, from Dylan a far better writer than I).

Anyone, anyone?

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!