Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2011-02-01 - 10:53 p.m.

Can't sleep. It's storming out, snow is blanketing my neck of the world as we speak. I won't know until morning if My Darling will have to brave the treacherous roads or not, his work has not decided yet if they will close due to winter storm. I am hoping he will stay home with us, I worry about him driving.

My worry isn't what is keeping me awake, I'm not really sure the cause. I am tired but in a weary way, not tired in the classic sense. All day I have felt weary despite a trip to the tanning salon for a shot of vitamin D. The winters make me weary, I am not meant for this place. I wish for hot, even sticky if need be, but hot all the way. I never feel warm in the winter. This is not to say I am not ever warm or I am cold all the time but that pervasive warm from my head to the tips of my toes is missing, and to be sure I miss it. I love to bath in the warmth, I'm a lizard at heart, perhaps what I need is a basking light. That's it, a giant basking light. Oh, right, that's what I have at the tanning salon. The trouble with the tanning bed is it is designed for a quick and dirty tan rather than a warm bake. Too much bang for the buck. I wish it would last longer without paying the price of over baked skin and potential skin cancer.

Ohh, what about a hot tub you say? Yes it would be lovely but how do you maintain a hot tub in -10 degree weather. Way too high an energy cost. No, hot tubs are great indoors (I had a friend who parks theirs in their unusually large mudroom) or outdoors in gentler climates bit here in the Midwest they just aren't practical.

So I am stuck with the cold, for a few more months. The hot (and sticky) is on it's way, all I need is a little patience.

Thanks to my Darling for a electric throw I can drag around the house to keep me warmer. He takes good care of me, yes? I'm going to head up and see if I can snuggle myself warm with the aid of My Darling and said throw. Perhaps I will be able to sleep too, wouldn't that be a grand happenstance.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!