Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2010-06-27 - 9:43 a.m.

After a couple of semi lazy days back home I'm finally finding my way back to tell about the last of the vacation. On Thursday we headed off to see the dunes. We were originally going to the dunes where all the trucks and ORV play but I got directions to a local beach so we headed off promising Baby Boy a gigantic sand box. He was thrilled. We dug in the sand, discovered the lake was warmer than the showers at the campground (a fact I shared with them when we checked out) and Baby Boy was able to play with some other kids. He ran water relentlessly, from lake to hole in the sand. My Darling said he was trying to empty the lake. I almost wish I had brought my suit. The waves were still pretty nice from the storm the night before.

We had KFC for lunch and headed back for late nap (Baby Boys, my Darling and I read for a time. Dinner and campfire, Baby Boy getting his porch bath and eating two giant marshmallow (I could only manage one) before heading off to bed. My Darling and I burned the last bundle of wood before heading off to bed ourselves. I couldn't get on the internet, thus no post.

Friday we packed up (two hours not bad) and came home. As we unloaded the car I cleaned and put everything away. Every piece of clothing we took had to be washed (finished that up yesterday).

Lost another chicken on Friday. We let the old chickens out into the yard and the new chickens into the run. They bad access to water in the coop but one of the dark chickens (both of the chickens we lost were dark) was wallowing in the dirt (which chickens tend to do) but My Darling thought after the fact that it was behaving a little off. We think it died of heat exhaustion. Still to be safe we dosed the water with antibiotics. This means we are now down to three new chickens. At this rate there will we none left to integrate.

Saturday was spent doing mostly nothing followed by naps and another lazy dinner (dinosaurs and meatballs). At the last minute we remembered we had wanted to go to the balloon festival. We hurried to ready and left at the time they had listed for possible launch time. Lucky for us we arrived well before they actually launched.

On our way from the parking lot at the local church (saved 9 dollars parking there and walking a little further) Baby Boy called out "there is (cousins name here). We explained that it wasn't it was just a little girl who looked like (cousins name here). Turns out he was right and we were wrong. So we sat with family and watched the balloons fill and launch. It was very exciting for Baby Boy.

We took one lap around the artfest/carnival grounds until I felt over whelmed by the crowds and then My Darling lead us out of the mash. All I wanted was some sugar waffles. I haven't had them in years and they can only be found in Funnel Cake, Elephant Ear, Fried Twinkie land. I also wanted one of the paper hot air balloons for Baby Boys room. No luck on either but on the way to the store to pick up a few staples to tide us over we saw a vendor sell the balloons from the side of the road. At least I scored the balloon.

Baby Boy was late to bed yet again and thus slept in this morning. He has been begging for one of us to build him a train track since he got downstairs but My Darling and I are trying to encourage him to build his own. I have promised to build him a big track after I finish my first cup of coffee. Before sitting down to drink my first cup I have emptied the dishwasher, loaded the last two days of dishes, (did I mention that the past two days were lazy) cleaned the kitchen, moved the last load of vacation stuff (towels) to the dryer and ran a load of whites not vacation related, just time to run the whites).

Then I sat down to put the past couple of days down on "paper". I still have a half a cup of tepid coffee left.

My Darling teases me because I often become tied up in stuff while drinking coffee and have to keep warming it in the microwave. Our unit has a nice function, it beeps when you leave something after it has finished heating. Thank goodness because I often forget and am reminded by the persistent "beep beep" that continues until I pull the cup out. Of course the beeping makes My Darling crazy. Most days he isn't forced to hear the beeping but on the weekends he suffers (not in silence mind you) the habit I have of leaving it beep until I can stop what I am doing to retrieve the warmed coffee. From time to time I even have to reheat it again because it has cooled in the microwave. Distracted much?

Today will complete the lazy trifecta and then My Darling returns to work and life will go back to "normal" (the normal that has persisted since I took time off to relieve my stress and find a way to function again. The time I must decide what to do is fast approaching, more on that tomorrow.

Off to make breakfast, french toast, enjoy your Sunday.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!