Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2010-06-10 - 8:45 p.m.

Missed a day, too much running around and such. First there were cookies to bake, 8 dozen, and I didn't get up early so I had to fit them in before grocery shopping. Then there was the toddler meltdown that ended with a morning nap (him not me). This postponed the grocery shopping to the afternoon (with a side trip to deliver the cookies. "I want to give Reba cookie" says Baby Boy). By the time we got home it was time to prepare dinner. Groceries were put away, corn on to boil and chicken wings on the BBQ. Before we knew it Baby Boy was headed off to bed. Lunch made, Chickens fed and watered, and into bed for a little reading (Crooked Cucumber the biography of Shunryu Suzuki). Doesn't seem like a lot here on paper but believe me there wasn't a lot of free time.

Today, this morning I decided Baby Boy and I needed a break so I dropped him off at Daycare for a few hours and came back home to work on the play set. I gathered the pieces to complete a few phases of assembly and found I was missing a couple of lag screws. Now these "complete" sets are complete with all the hardware but just the right amount of hardware so you can't lose or misuse a screw because there are no extras. I was, therefore, on the hunt for the missing lag screws. I started at the beginning and identified all the places where a 2 in lag might have be accidentally subbed for a 1 1/2 in. I ran through the set and pulled the potential suspects only to find all was right with the set. Where could they be, there two lost lags. Then I spied the larger lags. 2 1/2 in. There were only two in a sealed package. Hmmmm. When I looked again through the completed phases I found it, there phase four, the monkey bars, I should have know it was those damn monkey bars. They were responsible for the stripped screws that sent me to the store for replacements and the location for the never shipped pan heads. 2 1/2 exchanged for the 2 in and I was up and running for the morning.

By 12 I had completed all that I had planned right on time. I changed and went to fetch up my Baby Boy only to find this snarling , crying kicking little monster in his stead. Seems he didn't want to leave Daycare. Of course when I reminded him he had a swing set to see he changed his tune pretty quick. I am not used to this out of control little boy. He has always been so compliant. Not perfect but when you told him to come, or sit or whatever he might complain but he would do it. Now I get a resounding NOOOO!! If you persist he gets louder and if you pick him up he kicks and squirms. Crazy! I am hoping that this is temporary, just another test of the boundaries. For the record. The boundaries are the same he just needs to understand that.

When we arrived home I let him see the set and climb on it a bit then put the screamer down for nap. The after noon was also productive and I can see the end of the tunnel quite clearly (I almost thought I would get it done today but there was supper to prepare and all those night time chores again.) Tomorrow I will install the tarp roofs and then the slide, swings and monkey bars (damn those monkey bars) and it will be complete. Five days. Below is the unit as it stands right now, tomorrow I will post a picture the completed play set and collect my accolades.

Tonight I will drag my tired butt up to bed, maybe read, maybe not and cuddle as close as my poor Darling can stand.

G'Night.

Photobucket

Photobucket

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!