Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2009-04-08 - 6:17 a.m.

I'm a little nervous. Not because I think that Anna will be anything but wonderful fun to be around, but because I am not so much fun I think. Sometimes I feel like a little kid when I have a friend visiting. Well, it's not really that I feel like a kid so much as I think I act like one. I talk about things and then feel the need to run and get examples, so I am constantly doing a "hey look at this" kind of thing, childish. I feel the need to entertain even though I know my friend doesn't expect it (or even want it I'm sure). Even those people who have been friends for a while make me nervous when they visit me (or when I visit them). So I sit here in a puddle of nervous waiting for the afternoon when I will have the pleasure of finally saying hello, up close and personal, to someone I have been friends with for four+ years. I don't want her to be disappointed about her decision to come to my backwoods and hang out with me.

Of course I think of Brighton as this interesting more exotic place, all foreign but I suppose to her it is a little boring and ordinary. Even the wonder of Niagara Falls escapes you when you spend your life within hearing distance. I used to run around the park and not even glance at the water rushing off the cliff. That's all it is you know, water dropping off a cliff (and not even a high cliff). I played in the park as a youngster, more interested in the world travelers who saved up their money and traveled halfway around the world to see my falls. Even as a tour guide, knowing all that I did about one of the seven natural wonders of the world, I had trouble appreciating the thing. What you know is never as interesting as what you don't know.

SO while there is nothing to do here and no where to go, I will have the pleasure of interesting company (someone with stories I have never heard and a lovely accent to boot). How lucky am I?

I have to start getting ready for my day. I will still go to my Tai Chi class (Oh how I will Anna had arrived yesterday so I could take her with me). The only interesting thing I do and she will miss it. Sigh! Oh well, what are you going to do. I am not sure how long she intends on staying but I know no matter how long I am lucky to have a bit of her precious time. Too soon she will be off to grace someone else's life with her company (if we are able to find adequate transportation to her next destination, she going a bit by the seat of her pants from here). You can't even get a cab in this town let alone a bus. In fact I have never even seen a bus here.

We will figure it out I am sure.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!