Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2009-03-30 - 4:36 a.m.

So the days slip by with so much to do and the next thing I know it's four days. It was a fairly productive four days.

Thursday I worked during the day and spent the evening enjoying my family time. Baby boy got a new balloon, a "toy" he still gets all sorts of excited about, looking for it every morning and disappointed that he can't take it to bed with him. Not bad for a dollar investment.

Friday I played house frau and cleaned. Laundry, kitchen, vacuuming and such occupied the entire day. I folded clothes in the evening much to the chagrin of My Darling who continually begs me to sit down and relax. A combination of concern for me and a desire to be close to me leaves him frustrated and I don't know what to tell him. I try and reserve the night for family time, often leaving dishes in the sink and clothes to be folded rather than forfeit my relaxation with him. I have trouble leaving the dishes though, I often get up from the table as soon as I am done so I can have the kitchen clean by the time Baby boy and My Darling finish (my kitchen allows us to continue talking while I clean so it's not a sacrifice of time). I just hate dishes in the sink, it seems dirty to me, my brothers always have nasty dirty dishes in the sink and the icky smell that accompanies that.

We found time after Baby boy toddled off to bed to watch a movie before dragging ourselves off to bed. We used to watch movies all the time but with My Darling working so very early in the morning (he is hard at work as I write this) we tend to head off to bed shortly after Baby boy. Toddlers are not conducive to movie watching, demanding your attention constantly. He climbs up on my lap while I am on the computer, he piles books on me wanting me to "read" to him. He isn't actually all that interested in your reading, just in turning the pages and pointing at the pictures. It's the first step into the world of literature and I am pleased to encourage him.

Saturday we worked on the house. Our well pump has been cycling more frequently than it should (according to My Darling who knows about such things, I am clueless about wells, I grew up on city water). Evidently the tank wasn't holding pressure. The tank came with the house and we always knew we would replace it eventually so after My Darling cleared out the old system and a couple of trips to the hardware store (I can never seem to get everything we need the first time) I pieced together the new system. I took the opportunity to replace the master valve and rid the main line of an old tap that was originally installed for the old humidifier. Unlike the water softener install this time I fought some leaks in the system. I am not used to galvanized plumbing preferring PVC and copper but it seems that galvanized is the standard for wells. I failed to get the connections tight enough the first time. Then when I finally had the system dry to the new main I opened it to find a leak at the valve connection to the copper. After adjusting that connection I found a small leak in my sweat weld where I reconnected the line after the removed tap. That fix took three tries before I got it right. The whole job ate Saturday and my evening after work last night (Sundays are a workday for me, in the breakfast restaurant business, everyone works on Sunday). I think I got it licked though, one little tightening of the coupling between the well line and the main valve should do it.

Sunday at work was, well business as usual. Too many girls on the floor, a bit of confusion over a party scheduled which I and two other girls tended and divided the tip. We would have made more if we had been seated normally but we made 20% on the party so who can complain. I did ok but it's always hard work for the money.

My Darling and I finished watching the movie we started on Saturday (we were both too tired to finish) and headed off to bed by 8:30. I am old.

I listened to one of the young girls talking about going out last night after work (we close at 9) and playing pool and I thought, wow, I can't remember the last time I played pool. I used to be really good. I am not bragging, I am simply stating fact. I could hold a table all night, taking challenger after challenger and wiping up the table with them. It seemed I could "will" the balls into the pocket. I was a shark in the waters for sure. And now I am a wife and Mom. I miss pool but I know it will never be the same. I could play but I will never be that good again because I am not interested in spending all the time I used to spend on that activity and I get frustrated now because I don't have the skills I once took for granted. Like running, I will never run like I used to, it will always be an exercise to me from now on because I don't want to spend my time that way anymore, I have way more important and enjoyable things to do, I have Baby boy and My Darling.

So it's Monday now and I am enjoying my early morning after keeping My Darling company on his way to work. It's nice that we can talk on the phone in the morning while he drives to work. I miss that on the days I sleep in. I wish I could get up with him every morning but after working my swings (Monday and Tuesday) I am just too tired. I am so impressed with My Darling, he is such a good provider, hard working. I wish he would take some time to do the things he enjoys. He is always nagging me to take time and then he gets caught up with house and family just like I do. With the summer months he will hopefully take the time to bike with the guys from work. He is good on his bike when he does it all the time, and I know it makes him happy.

Right now I am baking cookies (Chocolate chip of course, I told you I was addicted) and I will be off to work in a few hours but that was my weekend in a nutshell.

Only 9 more days till Lovely Anna will be here. I'm hoping a few more lovelies in my garden will poke their heads out before she arrives.

Till later...Ta-Ta

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!