Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2008-05-07 - 7:50 a.m.

Goodness I have been quite remiss in my Baby Boy updates and so much has happened recently. He crawls now, not the army style but the genuine article and boy is he fast. He has demonstrated his musical prowess by playing the cold air return. He takes so much pleasure in the act and sings along (well he vocalizes, not necessarily singing). With his new mobility comes safety gates and baby proofing. My Darling and I have decided to use a mix of baby proofing and training like our parents before us. This consists of removing precious items and replacing them with items that are off limits but not precious just in case the little one has a shallow learning curve. So far he is persistent in that he remains obsessed with certain items (DVD�s and Video Games) but he stops when verbally reprimanded. Deeper voicing obtains more immediate results. Also with crawling came pulling himself up to standing. This includes holding onto the couch, either parent, or the stairs which prompted the immediate purchase of safety gates due to his ability to actually climb the stairs (only one step so far but enough to startle both Mommy and Daddy). The joke, �he�s halfway up the steps�, was a lot less fanciful when he actually managed to climb even one. He has finally sprouted a tooth. Well, actually we can feel it poking through but as yet it is still not actually visible at the gum line. So many milestones crossed and I babble on about personal growth like anything I can change compares with the radical growing my Baby Boy is doing.

He was eight months old yesterday. There is only four more months until his first birthday. Time goes by just as fast as everyone says. I still lag in the picture department never matching the rest of the family in pictures of the little scamp. I know I�m going to be unhappy when he is older and I have few pictures of him but honestly I just get caught up in enjoying him and forget to take pictures. I had to start leaving the camera out so I would remember to take more pictures. It�s so very easy now a day, digital cameras allow for so many more pictures then out parents could afford. I must take more pictures since he is so very photogenic. Here is your awww for today.

Photobucket

I realize I�m biased but I think he�s quite the looker, gonna break hearts someday.

The garden is getting ready. That sounds like it�s happening all by itself but no, there has been a lot of labor, mostly by my Darling but I have worked diligently on clearing away the excess garlic chives and other random weeds from the asparagus bed. We also relocated a few lost asparagus roots that had wandered outside of the bed. In fact they were all the way at the other end of the garden. Nature is a wonderful thing when left to its own devices. The last frost may have passed but the local planting schedule is right after Mother�s Day so I have gathered my seeds (all but the corn which I have been slacking on getting) and I will purchase plants for the tomatoes and peppers. Next year I will grow them from seed starting in February. This year we just didn�t have the time or space. I am looking forward to the fresh produce for the taste and the cost savings. Since we have continued to make our own baby food we plan on using the fruits of our labor (vegetables actually, since we still haven�t introduced him to fruits or sugars of any kind) and storing them frozen for use through the winter. With my lovely bullet style food mill pureeing the veggies is quite easy. He gets all sorts of unusual stuff not available in processed baby food, cauliflower and three different squashes as well as the standards, beans, peas, and carrots. Just recently we tried sweet potato. I don�t recommend the microwave for cooking the potato as it seemed too dry to puree properly. Next time I�ll boil it.

Change comes slow but it is sure. Sometimes it seems as though I take one step forward and fall back two but as long as I keep striving I should win out by persistence alone. I did find out a couple of things that make me feel a little better about myself. The cognitive trouble I have are a normal condition of my disease which is uncorrected by the medication that balances my mood. What appears as lack of attention or focus is in fact normal and out of my control. I think I can still make improvements by working around my known weaknesses. I overcame dyslexia and aced my math classes just by recognizing the problem and checking and rechecking and rechecking again my problems. There are also new medications claiming to help. I�m hesitant to mix anything with the current med that has been so effective in controlling both the depression and hypomania. I would be very unhappy (literally) if the new drug diminished the positive effects of the current medication. My Darling and I are both educating ourselves more and that has helped as well. Knowledge, genuine effort and time will lead us where we wish to be.

This weekend I will celebrate my first real Mother�s Day. I am so very happy to have been allowed to know the love I have for both My Darling and the Baby Boy he gave me. I adore being a MOM and look forward to watching Baby Boy grow and learn. I strive to give him a safe and loving home so he will be able to face the world with self assurance.

To recap:

Life is Good!!

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!