Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2007-05-14 - 2:57 p.m.

To be quite honest I couldn�t remember when I posted last which is a bad sign by itself, after checking I found that it has been three days. A lot has happened in the last three days. Friday was mostly normal with no real outstanding features but Saturday and Sunday on the other hand were a bit more interesting.

Saturday morning I had resigned myself to spending a butt load of money on maternity clothes. It kills me to spend the ridiculous amounts of money required for clothing in the first place let alone for items I will wear for another 3 to 5 months tops but I have this trip and I don�t want to wear all �work� clothes so I was set to bite the bullet. As I stood with my armful of clothes waiting for my turn to learn the grand total of my shopping trip I was mentally totaling up the bill and trying to decide what I could live without in order to keep the total around two hundred (two hundred for god�s sake!!) when My Darling insisted I return the top I was set to forgo to the pile. It was then I found out that he had arranged for the clerk to allow him to pay. (the total was over three hundred *gasp*) I was stunned. He knew I was probably going to do without stuff I liked and wanted because of my inability to spend money on myself so he planned to pay and called it my Mothers Day gift. Let me tell you, it is so much more thoughtful a gift than a piece of jewelry (which I rarely wear). I love this man.

From the Maternity shop we headed off to look at a slew of houses.

House 1:

All around terrible house. The property was small, the roof was worse than the manufactured house we were originally to buy and the inside was trashed. Foreclosed houses are often gutted inside.

House 2:

Designated �cat pee house�.

As the designation suggests the place reeked of cat pee. Of course having spent more than half of my life with cats including one that had the terrible habit of spraying all over my house I know how to control the odor (the cat that sprayed was condemned to the basement for the remainder of his life allowed to come and go outside but not upstairs around my stuff � this is one of the reasons I no longer have a cat). The rugs would all need to go, the floors would be need to be treated and the walls painted but the foundation of the house is sound and the property (1.9 acres) is beautiful. We will take another look when we get back from Vegas.

House 3:

Designated �Quad house�

The house is a quad level in a very nice sub-division. It is priced well below it�s value and will absolutely go up in value almost immediately. Unfortunately it is only .75 acres and with an association (complete with annual fee) they are not likely to cotton much top My Darlings desire for a bike park in the back yard. Add to that high taxes and it is both unaffordable and unlikely even if we find the taxes have been misquoted (the realtor is checking).

House 4:

This place is beautiful. Real wood on the ceiling and floors, all new trim and windows, nice deck w/hot tub and lovely rolling lot (for a downhill mountain biker that is a good feature). Unfortunately the house was misrepresented. It is listed as a three bedroom but in reality it is a two bedroom with a large attic accessible by a metal pull-down ladder. While we might live in the tiny house happily for a while I want something that we can sell at some point and two bedrooms don�t sell well. You can�t count the upper level as a bedroom unless you can find a way to access it in a more permanent fashion. Not where to go but up as an addition and lots of expensive structural work to do that. My Darling was very disappointed but had to defer to me and the realtor when it comes to the resale ability. Too bad for me too, I miss out on the hot tub.

We headed home for a light supper (shish kabobs and corn on the cob) and went off to sleep early.

Sunday was a family day as we had promised to attend the niece�s confirmation. We are not church people. We had to sit through the entire service in order to witness the event. My Darlings mother was extremely pleased to see us (him) and made a point of telling him it was �good for him� to sit through a service in a church we don�t attend and a faith we don�t believe. I�m always stunned at peoples disrespect. The she suggested that she would be willing to my baby baptized and �how would that work for me?� I told her that it wouldn�t work for me. I think she knows better than to ask My Darling and so she thought to appeal to me. Yeah, not going to work. I just can�t wait to field those same questions, offers, from my own parents. Here�s the thing, I don�t believe and so the idea of baptism becomes just an event to placate and while my lack of faith makes the whole thing moot I still find the lack of respect appalling. I do not belittle my parents and friends of faiths for their beliefs. I do not suggest that they are wrong (no matter what I might personally feel) yet it seems as though the mutual respect isn�t there. They feel comfortable suggesting I am wrong and somehow I should defer to them accordingly. I will not, nor will I allow anyone else to, promise to raise my child in a faith I don�t believe in, period.

*sigh*

I love these people but they just can�t fathom that they might be wrong. I�m willing to admit I could be wrong but I figure all evidence suggests there is not a �right answer� just lots of opinions so if I�m wrong I�m counting on �God�s Love� not to hold my baby accountable. I will not �hedge my bets� by lying in a church just in case. Ewww.

Lunch after the affair ate up the rest of the day and so we slugged back home blowing off our intended bike ride (crap) had ice cream for dinner and heading off to bed early.

This week I head to Vegas for the wedding. I�ll try and post before I go and I�ll have my computer with me so I might even post from Vegas.

Have a nice night kiddies.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!