Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2007-03-25 - 3:38 p.m.

I�m not sure how far we walked yesterday but we were gone more than an hour. We strolled around the neighborhood and then decided to walk to the local store to pick up some bleu cheese dressing for the wingfest last night. The sun was shining and we made best use of the perfectly lovely day (65 degrees). I was also able to pack away my �regular� clothes; seeing as they no longer fit me it seemed pointless to leave them taking up space.
Color me fat and Happy!!
Speaking of clothes, I am appalled, appalled I tell you, at the ridiculous fashions being passed off as maternity clothes now a day. I am thrilled that women are becoming more comfortable with their bodies and the natural process that is reproduction but really, I don�t want my big ol� belly hanging out there for all to �admire�. There is almost no difference between maternity and young miss wardrobes. They are all tight, form fitting and (gasp) see through. I can�t wear those to work. What happened to the good old days hen they gave you a tent for a couple of months? Besides, if you throw your tummy out there like that it you might as well hang a neon sign over it that says �touch me� and I have already expressed my feelings on that topic.
It was a busy day at the restaurant today. I didn�t have as nice a section as last week so my tips were down but with luck next week will be better.
My Darling and I will be married on April 6th. He has already applied for the License (there is a three day waiting period here in MI).
Funny place MI, seems you can buy a handgun in one day but you must wait three days to get a marriage license. Evidently marriages are more dangerous than guns here.
I will be happy to have it done. My Darlings family plans on attending (the whole family) and my family is all disappointed that they can�t make it. It�s silly. The whole thing will take 5 -10 min tops and we are planning a reception after we settle into the new house. What is the big deal about the ceremony? I suppose my Darlings family wants to be there because it�s his first marriage (and hopefully for me his last) but my folks have been through this once. I told my Darling if he wanted a real wedding I would do that for him but he feels the way I do. We are way more excited about the little one than the �I dos�. We were already committed to each other the moment we started trying to get pregnant. The marriage is a formality so we can receive the protection and benefits of being a recognized family unit. (Don�t think I�m belittling that benefit, I am well aware that some people are denied such simple rights based on their choice of partner and that is just wrong.) It�s just that we are private people and if we weren�t going to have a family we would probably have been happy just sharing our lives together without a piece of paper to bind us legally.
I am happy that we were able to make it happen before I head off the Vegas to play bridesmaid. Otherwise I might have had a Vegas wedding and I really wanted the weekend to be about my friends wedding.
There should be enough time to get a few boxes packed today so I must get to packing.
Happy Spring!!

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!