Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-11-27 - 10:28 a.m.

Thanksgiving was�.good. I mean it�s a shame that my niece chose to be elsewhere but that meant that we didn�t have to suffer the worst idiot boy because he was gone during the bulk of dinner delivering dinner to the queen (I mean my niece.) She called no less than five times requesting this and than and then at the last requesting to say �hello� to everyone. We all said hello (other than my sister-in-law and my Father no one said anything but hello.) Also to the best of my knowledge no one went to visit her but her father (and possibly my Mother). Frankly we are all pretty angry at her and at her father for continuing to allow my parents to take care of his kids. I even caught him trying to be �Dad� to his son �sit down� �why?� �Because I said so��ridiculous.

My two other brothers took over final preparation of the meal shooing my mother out of the kitchen. I think my Dad still carved the turkey but there was so much commotion (not to mention I was tapped to make the gravy) I can�t be sure. Idiot boy was upset because the turkey was late (meaning he would miss dinner delivering a plate to his daughter) and because there was no room in our preparation dance for him. He complained to my mother that we �wouldn�t let him help� and perhaps by our actions we didn�t but we also didn�t prevent him from helping. He never sought me out to talk during the holiday. He spent some time talking to the second youngest (I haven�t gotten the details on their discussions yet) but shied away from me and my older brother.

I was incredibly disappointed to find out that the system in place does not allow my parents to place my niece in a group home without her permission. Is that insane or what? If they really can�t control her they must care for her at her bidding. If she damages something or steals a car and destroys it my folks are responsible but they can do nothing to stop her but begin the proceedings to declare her delinquent. I do not know if she is home yet or not and I fear what she will do this time around. I wish my folks could afford to send her to a military school, anything to get her away from her current environment. I would love to talk to her but I think it would be a tremendous waste of breath. Talking to her is similar to talking to her father. Even though he has nothing and has never had any success in life he is convinced that he knows better than the people in his life successfully taking care of themselves. He gets good advice and still makes bad decisions. Then he blames his lack of success on others. It�s infuriating to listen to his crap for any length of time. My poor Darling was kind enough to indulge him for a little while but soon joined me with the observation that if he were trapped in a truck with my brother he would want to kill himself.

I was happy to have my motel room to escape to regardless of the really lousy condition. (That is a story all it�s own.)

All and all it was a really good trip. We had a wonderful time and despite my nieces attempt to cast a shadow we exercise a little denial and had fun anyway. My mother had moments when she appeared to waver but I hugged them away (I think).

Dinner with My Darling�s family was normal (as usual) and pleasant. His mother was disappointed we didn�t stay over to Sunday but we were both tired of being away from home and eager to sleep in our own bed. The news of the traffic congestion on Sunday re-enforced the wisdom of our early departure for us. I thought about going to work and then decided to call in after all. I had been ill on the way to his Families house on Saturday (breakfast made me want to throw up and I had to stop eating and concentrate on not puking. I was over it by the time we arrived at his folks and ate dinner with enthusiasm. It may have been a touch of car sickness. It�s been a while since I have been susceptible to motion sickness but it has happened in the past.

I�m back to work and it is noticeably slow this morning (most likely due to holiday spillover. Mondays are generally fairly slow anyway.

Congratulations out to Anna for reaching 50,000 words!! She is officially a NaNoWriMo winner. Bask in the glory my friend.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!