Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-11-08 - 12:40 p.m.

I am a pariah right now. I am one of THOSE people, you know, the ones who don�t vote and then complain about the way the country is run. Of course all of the folks shouting at me to STFU believe that there is some sort of way to elicit change in the status quo. I do not. First of all I can not make an informed choice on any of the issues because I am not able (physically unable, there is simply not enough time in the day) to research all the voting records of the potential politicians and read all propositions before making a decision. I refuse to be one of the sheep blindly following a party ignorant to the actual activities of their �elected� officials. Rich people spending lots of money to convince you that they are right. They all believe they are right and they are all spinning to convince you. The only way to make an informed decision is to do the research yourself. With two jobs I just don�t have the time. The folks who win regardless of their party will make decisions that benefit those individuals who paid to get them elected and maybe, just maybe, if it doesn�t interfere with other agendas they may do something to improve my life but don�t hold your breath, I�m pretty much on my own.

So no I don�t like the way they do things around here and no I don�t want to live anywhere else, there are worse places than here (of course keep in mind that there are other countries I have never lived in that might suit me better but since I can barely keep my head above water here I�m not likely to enjoy exploring other options). I let the rich folk do as they please because I can�t do anything to stop it. I am a serf and no amount of hard work on my part will change that. The best way to effect change is to be born rich and if you are born rich you don�t want things to change because your life is just fine.

Play the game if you like, maybe you will get lucky and somebody who genuinely cares about you and me might miraculously sneak by the powers that be and land in an office where they can effect some change but I�m just gonna get by the best I can until I exit stage right (I�m sure I will not be missed but this country in the least). I am a number and as long as I pay my taxes and follow the rules I will (hopefully) be left alone.

Here�s an idea, how about a lottery for political offices. Everyone�s name in a hat, we pull your name and you have to serve, like jury duty only stricter rules about getting out of it and better compensation. Two years service per position with half of the positions transitioning every year. Not long enough to do damage or cause heartache to your business. The folks who want the job shouldn�t have it and most of us would do ok if we set our minds and attention to the job.

Never happen, the powers that be would scream about incompetence (cause our current administration is filled with competence). For once I�d like to see Joe the restaurant owner policing the budget, there�s a guy who knows how to control funds and minimize waste.

*Sigh*

I guess I don�t really have any answers and that�s why I don�t vote.

P.S. For the record, one of the benefits of living in this country is the ability to openly criticize the government as a whole and individuals (including the president) without fear of reprisal. I am not un-patriotic I am exercising my right as a citizen to state my personal opinion and you have the right to ignore it. You do not have the right to call for my expulsion from the country or trial as a traitor. Lucky for me the farce only comes round every two years. Down with the signs and leave me alone for a while.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!