Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-05-01 - 8:27 a.m.

The weekend turned out to be better money than then Friday but I�m still not sold on this place. I always earned at least $15 and hour in the past and right now I�m averaging around 9 to 10. This isn�t going to work for me. The whole point of waitressing over working temp is because of the money. Its hard work waiting tables, really hard work. It�s not that I am afraid of work but I�m not a kid anymore and I don�t want to work that hard for so little.

Sunday I was approached by a manager and asked to work into the evening. She offered that I would get a break and everything (FYI waitresses don�t get breaks or overtime. It is not uncommon to work eight hours straight and don�t get caught just standing around or management will find some unpleasant task for you.) as though that were some perk that would make up for being at work for twelve hours (no thanks I�ll take the money thank you.) I specifically asked how late I would need to stay and was told 6:30 to 7. Now in my world this means I get cut around 6 or 6:30 and do a half hour of sidework (here they call them �outs� they are clean-up tasks that must be performed by the servers before they are allowed to leave.) The manager doesn�t live in my world. I approached her at 6:10 to let her know that I hadn�t been seated in a while, I had two tables preparing to leave and now would be a good time to cut me. She said she wanted to wait till she got caught up. I was seated at 6:30 guaranteeing I would be there until 7:30. I asked about the �out� and was told to look at the book and see a little girl named Rachel. While making sure my customers were well cared for I also ran around trying to complete an extensive workload of cleaning tasks including shutting down the salad station and cleaning all the little cubbies in the line. After the customers left and the salad station, cubbies and my tables were cleaned and restocked I was informed I would need to roll 100 sets of silverware (yes your servers roll them all day long and before being allowed to go home.) This was at 8 o�clock. I left the restaurant at almost 8:30, an hour to an hour and a half later than I expected, based on the managers promise. Not only that but they feed the established servers with more seatings so I made little money as well.

I don�t complain. I do as I�m told and treat all tasks seriously since I am not willing to do anything half-a$$ed. But I don�t like being lied to or taken advantage of. This falls under the category of �f00l me 0nce��. I will never accept a �swing� or double again. No promise of leaving at a given time can realistically be kept if you, as a manager, are seriously making your choices based on what is best for the restaurant. I don�t fault the manager for choosing to ignore my needs for the restaurant�s needs but I must always place my needs over the restaurant�s. So I will protect myself in the future. I will not carry a grudge or be mean and spiteful about it (although she may believe it is like that) I just won�t do that again.

F00l me 0nce�

We shall see how this week goes.

My Darling took good care of me last week. I understand how horrid it is to have nothing to do and he doesn�t have the flexibility that I do so if he takes a lower paying job while he looks for a better one because it will leave him stuck trying to get days off to interview. It may still come to that but for now he is looking hard. He has made dinner every day including last night when I told him I was working late and to go ahead and eat. Instead he waited for me to get home and then prepared a wonderful dinner with a recipe garnered from the internet. I love that he cooks.

More fun, I have a UTI. I have no insurance and I need to get medical attention (I�ve tried all the natural cures including cranberry juice, cranberry pills and vitamin C.) I don�t know how they dealt with it before antibiotics. The last time this happened (when I was with my Ex traveling) it cost $175 for doctor and lab test and $45 for the antibiotic. At $220 for treatment I�m sure that�s why folks wait till it�s really bad (like bladder infection) then go to the emergency room. This drives up costs for everyone since that costs more and is even less likely to get paid. I�m going to a PP clinic (I�m trying to un search engine this post so you will have to figure out which women�s care facility that stands for) and will receive medical attention and treatment for $45. I have to remember to make a contribution once I�m fully employed again.

It is bothersome being somewhat unemployed and without insurance. It is a nightmare you can�t know unless you have been there. I am still appalled that this country is the only �civilized� country in the world that does not provide medical insurance to the citizens as a matter of course. We are America for god�s sake. Disgusting.

Not much else to say. Busy, busy, off to work soon.

Take care and happy Monday.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!