Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-04-28 - 9:07 p.m.


bag�gage (noun)

Microsoft word definition

1. packed suitcases and bags

suitcases and other containers holding the belongings of people who are traveling

2. preconceived ideas

ideas, beliefs, or practices retained from somebody�s previous life experiences, especially insofar as they affect a new situation where they may be no longer relevant or appropriate

3. portable equipment

military the equipment and supplies that a military force carries with it on campaign

4. impudent girl or woman

a girl or woman who is thought of as impudent or obstinate

5. prostitute

an immoral woman, especially a prostitute

While definition one and two are familiar and three is no real revolution the last two definitions left my mouth ajar. This sent me to look in my old dictionaries.

Webster�s Dictionary 1936

The necessaries of an army; luggage; lumber.


Webster�s Dictionary 1938

The necessaries of an army on the move; luggage; lumber.

A playful epithet applied to a saucy girl.

Webster�s Dictionary 1939

1. The trunks, valises, etc., which one carries on a journey; - now usually called luggage by the English.

2. The clothes, tents, and effects of every kind, of an army.

3. Formaly, (sp) a wanton; a prostitute; now, an artful, pert young woman.

Notice a progression here?

4. impudent girl or woman

a girl or woman who is thought of as impudent or obstinate

5. prostitute

an immoral woman, especially a prostitute

Now consider:

"men seeking woman, no baggage" or "she has too much baggage."

I had been considering the first two definitions dismissing the first one as ordinary and concentrating on the second for inspiration. The ideas rolled around in my head on and off all day and after dinner I sat down to put the many words to paper starting with the obvious definition as jumping off point. Now I am thrown off kilter by this strange interpretation of the word. Where I was ready to explain, share personal experience and blah, blah, blah I am instead curious beyond curious as to how this word managed to transform from the �necessaries of an army� to �a wanton; a prostitute; now, an artful, pert young woman� in three years and how the 1939 usage and the current usage as it is applied to a woman compliment each other.

Rarely have I heard a man worth knowing utter the words �she has too much baggage�. Let�s face it; anyone over the age of, hmmmm, birth has baggage. We interpret the world from the moment we enter it and every choice we make is based on that interpretation. The older you are the more �truth� you have identified. This �truth� (good, bad or indifferent) colors all of your actions. Flash forward 10, 20, 30, 40 years and the luggage is bursting at the seams.

"men seeking woman, no baggage"

With the other definition substitute impudent, obstinate, immoral, prostitutes for baggage. Since I have never accepted money for sex I can not claim to be a prostitute (not that I think there is anything wrong with that) but other than that all the other terms have at one time or another been applied to me. I also carry a lot of baggage and not the good, I have chips and a really good book, kind of packing material.

So I have defined the word, identified the life experience and I am left where I was when I started this exploration. No solution, no cure, just a continued victim of the atomic joke.

Lucky for me My Darling doesn�t mind my baggage. Well maybe, realistically, it�s not that he doesn�t mind (in truth I think it drives him nuts) but instead he loves me anyway. In exchange I love him complete with his suitcase of fun. I suppose if we are lucky we can fit our crap into the empty spaces of someone else�s crap and together maybe just maybe you can both walk away from it all.

Baggage = prostitute � who would have thought?

Thanks Zu, don�t know if it�s worth anything but there�s certainly words to paper here.

Ha! found it! The term was applied to women long before 1936. The original definition didn't transform I just didn't see the extended thought process. Until recently, women have always been part of the "effects of every kind", of an army. Camp-followers, they were called, just part of the baggage of war.

Maybe not great writing but a wonderful evening of fun chasing words. Thanks again Zu.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!