Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-04-25 - 3:19 p.m.

I�m home from my first day at work which consisted of lapping up the corporate training programs written and presented for the lowest common denominator. I completed all the modules in one day which pleased the manager and my new trainer and so I will start on the floor with a trainer on Thursday.

I also received a call from the recruiter who hooked me up with the company looking for a FS Tech. Seems I am topping the list of applicants (a short list I suspect) and they wish to have a second interview. Now the trouble with this is the first interview didn�t impress me. I felt as though I had to lead the interview and then the benefits information I requested be sent to me were never delivered. Also the 45% travel promised by the recruiter turned into 85% travel when I spoke to the company (fly out on Monday come home on Friday most weeks which sounds more like 100% travel to me) AND no territories which means I could be sent to clean up other people�s messes. I�m good at what I do and I take personal responsibility for my job. Customers seek me out because they know this. This means that even though we have no territory I would probably be responding to customers once they feel as though they will always get excellent customer service from me.

It�s no bragging if it�s true, you know.

The pay is 10K more than I have been making previously and 20K more than the Lab jobs around here are offering but as is I�m not interested. I�m pretty certain the unstable nature of the position would note sit well with my illness. It has been suggested that I take it temporarily, make a few connections and then move on but I�m not sure I would be able to make any real connections dashing from one place to another. I am waiting to hear back from them. If they are willing to modify the job requirements for me then I might consider it but otherwise, money or no, I have to say no.

I�m waiting to hear about a couple of lab positions as well. The normal job hunt activity�waiting.

Guess who is best friends with the unloved family member. That�s right, you guessed it, ME. It places me in an awkward situation because she wants me to commiserate with her over the injustice of her treatment and I really can�t. It�s not that I don�t believe some of her complaints are valid it�s just that lots of what she takes exception to doesn�t bother me in the least and I do find her a little, well, indiscrete in her verbal communication. Couple that with a family who has a communication disconnect and you have a recipe for disaster. Sunday I sat in the room with the MIL and DIL and listened as they miss-communicated. Both became defensive over a subject on which they really didn�t disagree. It was almost comical (I found myself giggling a little but I stifled most of it not to offend). I am not a member of this family and I must remember that I am only a guest. It isn�t my job to act as a bridge. It is tempting for a �fixer� like me to want to step into the middle but it is not my place. I will be nice to all parties and stay out of back biting. It�s the best I can do I think.


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!