Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2006-01-03 - 2:44 p.m.

Today, on the lunaversary of my quit, I was just interviewed for an article in Ladies Home Journal. This is a celebration of friendship (with my dear friend Sandi - justtheprincess), overcoming addiction and becoming a better person. I have never been afraid of being honest and as most of you know honesty is the prime requisite to the successful quit, you must see the addict in you if you are to overcome the odds and cross over to a new life. Still I was a little nervous, no need, and as Sandi assured me it would, it simply came naturally. I told our story. It�s a story of friendship born of shared addiction. Geography allowed us to meet in person and that led to a 3d friendship. I don�t discount, however, all of the other people I met during the 31 months I have been quit in any way. As I told the interviewer, these 2d friends who were there for me and for whom I was there are as real to me as any of my 3d friends. I am lucky to have met so many caring and supportive souls. I consider everyone in this life boat a kindred spirit.

In the end she told me I would be helping a lot of people. I am thrilled to have had even a small part in growing the online communities dedicated to helping people break their addiction. With the tobacco industry exporting addiction more and more these online programs become even more valuable. I even look forward to the day when FFS is provided in many languages so that people can give and receive support in their own language. Every day I grow and change and every day I am thankful for the love and support that was so freely given to me. I have tried to give back and I thank all those who stepped up to the boards when I had to move on (as you all will eventually returning infrequently to raise a flag and let people know that the quit can last).

Sandi was (and is) my inspiration and a dear friend, thanks to her and everybody at FFS and Woofmang for my freedom.

31 months and soaring.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!