Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-12-18 - 7:38 p.m.

So I'm shopping online for a couple of night stands. Darling and I have decided to use our Christmas funds from his family to purchase night stands to replace the plastic three drawer storage units that have been serving as such since we met. I ask you, have you been shopping for such incidental furniture lately? Unbelievable. Did you know that you could pay up to $1000 for a night stand? I can't imagine what mght make a little table worth so much money. Gold leaf maybe?

My taste unfortunately suits a much more affluent person than me. If I like the look of it it won't be less than $300. For a night stand I tell you, a night stand!!

I'm frustrated by my lack of attention to the rising cost of stuff. My Darling doesn't seem nearly as appalled (although he isn't much pleased with the fact that bed tables are more expensive than printers.) I am spoiled by my years trolling the thrift stores for magnificent bargains on previously own merchandise (it works for the BMW people why not goodwill?) High end products in my minimal price range.

I will probably have to *gasp* plunk down the ridiculous sum of $75 to $100 to have a respectible piece of furniture to hold my alarm clock, box of tissues and lamp. I'm thinking plastic isn't all that bad after all (I can think of many other things I could have for the price of this bedroom furniture.) When I think of my friends and their furniture I realize that they all have to be in as much debt as me to fill their houses with such niceties. Well, at least they can look at their money in furniture format. I on the other hand have to try and remember the good times from my travels (while avoiding thoughts of the bad times) to see my investment.

Still, all things being equal, I wouldn't trade my time on the road for anything. Not even if you told me my heart wouldn't have been abused. I loved the people and places I was introduced to in those years. Someday I will pull out my pictures, separate the bad from the good and share that part of my life with my Darling too.

Still haven't talked to him yet but I'm going to, I swear. I told him about my mental illness I can tell him this.

For now I'm back to the hunt for the little black night stand.

One more thing...Nice tree Huh?

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!