Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-08-26 - 2:49 p.m.

Shades of grey wherever I go
The more I find out the less that I know
Black and white is how it should be
But shades of grey are the colors I see
~Shades of Grey~Billy Joel~

I like having the opportunity to have real conversations with people. I learn so much about life and humans in general from those kinds of interchanges. It also helps me to organize my thinking because I am forced to find a way to explain my ideas and that makes me think about my ideas. It sounds a bit insane to talk about thinking about thoughts but often we don�t think about what we think about.

I found a way to distinguish between what I believe (theory) and what others believe (opinion). That is not to say I think everyone else�s point of view is an opinion what I mean to say is some folks are scientific by nature. They don�t accept things just because they are told it is true, they wish to experiment. They try not to get too attached to their theories so they can adjust them if the experimental data requires it. They will defend them only as far as they can prove them and they are always open to another theory. This is the scientific process and unfortunately not all scientist practice this faithfully (sometimes they fall in love with their ideas and this can lead to skewed experiments and falsified data).

Non-scientist think about things (or accept what they are told) decide their opinion and then simply hold on tight. They do not experiment or stay open to other ideas they make black and white decisions, for them you are right or you are wrong. My biggest flaw (and I believe my Darling would agree) is that I compulsively see both sides of an argument. I have difficultly standing firm (as in an opinion) because often the theories are both valid and I am left weighing the potential benefits vs. the potential liability of the given theories.

In other words my world is dominated by shades of grey.

I believe I've passed the age of consciousness and righteous rage
I found that just surviving was a noble fight.
I once believed in causes too,
I had my pointless point of view,
And life went on no matter who was wrong or right.
~Angry Young Man~Billy Joel


I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!