Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-08-24 - 11:14 a.m.

I don�t often comment on the world mostly because it is not really something I concern myself with. I let the ruling class rule because I have no real choice in the matter and subsequently I rarely get too upset about these things out of my control. That being said I am outraged at the absolute hypocrisy of a self proclaimed religious leader with a �special connection� to God. It�s not so much a surprise, after all he was also responsible for the �revelation� that aids is punishment from God for homosexuality and 9/11 was punishment from God for America�s disconnect from �Christian values�. This crack pot is simply providing more of the same, what outrages me is that the administration didn�t jump all over it and condemn a call for assassinating a foreign government�s legitimately (at least as legitimate as our own) elected leader as a call for terrorism. If a Muslim cleric in Iran had called for the assassination of GW the outcry would be loud and long. The double standard applied by the current administration is the reason that there is such a poor image of the United States as a nation of hypocrites. I want my Country to be as appalled and offended as I am. Like many Americans I already feel betrayed by my Government. It�s not that I expect them to always make the right choices but I don�t like the idea of manufacturing �evidence� to go to war. You can say what you want about Clinton but at least he didn�t try and mask the first gulf war in some sort of moral/humanitarian terrorism crap. He said frankly, they took our oil and we need to take it back. When Saddam's army was removed from Kuwait Clinton ended the war and pulled us out, never once landing on a carrier in fake Ace fashion (I would think a real war veteran would have been offended by such theatrics.) I want the Administration to apply the same standards within the US as they claim to require of the rest of the world. We expect other countries to condemn their religious fanatics and we should do the same no matter how much money they have provided and continue to provide the republican party. Someone needs to tell Pat to sit down and shut up.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!