Today
Yesterday
Diaryland

 photo Asian-Banner.gif

2005-06-20 - 2:22 p.m.

Well the move is complete, although organization of stuff remains and I expect will continue into July. I am generally pleased with how things went. It was a lot of work for two people, be fair a friend of my Beaus helped out with the truly monstrous things like the couch, big screen TV and fish tank, but most of the stuff was transported via pick-up truck (my Beau�s) and RV (mine). I lost count of the number of trips up the two flights of stairs to my lofty home over looking a large chunk of the city and from which, on a clear day, you can see the ocean. Up side of course is no one above you, down side OMG the stairs. My Beaus says we are never moving again, we must stay there forever, because of how difficult the move was. I suggested we could move but we have crossed over into the age group (and or stuff group) that simply must hire professional movers. The task is done and the lease is for 10 months so I think we can make ourselves at home.

My Darling is still on the job hunt but he has had a promising interview. The only scary part is the position is in receiving (well actually the position IS receiving) and he has an appointment with the CEO and COO of the company. I would think that they wouldn�t get involved in that kind of hiring. Still, they like him and they are very interested so it�s all about the money. The move has given him much to do so he isn�t feeling so lost but soon enough things will be ordered and by then (hopefully before then) he will be employed.

I have made a few discoveries about the new place. One thing is that I am most assuredly vertically challenged. I have needed a step before in my life to reach top shelves but this time I am forced to purchase a step ladder or forfeit the top two shelves in my kitchen cupboards. I have investigated the non-closing cupboards and I believe most of them can be fixed by sanding down high spots. Luckily I happen to have a quart of Navajo white (the rental industry standard paint) to repaint the sanded areas. My Beau, who so casually dismissed my cupboard concerns has attempted to close one non closing cupboard several times and is finally seeing the light. We simply can not have cupboards that don�t close.

My RV will be visiting the Grand Canyon this week. Good friends are borrowing the RV for their summer family trip. I spent most of yesterday cleaning up and hosting RVing 101 for my friends. My RV is really very easy to drive. I always forget how easy until I take it out on the road. They were thrilled. It is amazing to see the looks on the kids faces when they are riding around in a 31 foot RV. When we pulled into a parking lot to allow the two adults to drive the thing around the little boy (three years old) asked �where�s the Grand Canyon?� isn�t that absolutely adorable? I can�t wait to hear how their trip goes. I�m a little nervous that something will happen but that�s why I have insurance and they are allowing me to park the thing on their property. It�s not even me that I am worried about. I just don�t want them to get hurt.

All and all a lot of good things are happening. My Karma could be improving a little. Oh, and I just bought a bookcase big enough for all my books. Thank goodness for thrift stores, I would own nothing good without them. Someday I want to be able to go into a nice store and buy nice clothes that someone else hasn�t discarded but for now at least I can look and live good within my budget.
Today is a good day.

I wish you Peace

~alison~


Leave a note:

to leave a note you need to be logged in



- - 2013-08-16

Darkness - 2013-04-18

Too much - 2013-04-09

Skip - 2013-03-03

- - 2013-02-07


earlier - later

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary 

at DiaryLand.com!